We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class gastronomic experience in a perfect setting”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class gastronomic experience in a perfect setting”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have been a frequent visitor to Linthwaite House over the year’s choosing this hotel when we have something special to celebrate or if we just want to spoil ourselves. We have just had another delightful two night vacation in the Lakes and on arrival received a very warm welcome from Andy and the whole team who were extremely helpful and pleasant throughout our stay.
We had a well equipped bedroom with its own balcony (33) situated above the kitchen – [although the rooms at the side of the house have much nicer views of the garden and the Lake and we would probably opt for that next time]. That said, the furnishings and fittings were of a high standard, the bathroom is modern with a separate shower and the general comfort of the room is very good. Having explored the local area we returned to the hotel and spent some time in the well manicured gardens and then spent some quality time sat by the Tarn making use of the summer house.
It has to be said that for us one of the most enjoyable aspects to our stay is usually the dining experience which is truly out of this world. We have never experienced a disappointing meal at Linthwaite and if this last stay is a guide then the standard continues to improve.
The menu is well balanced with plenty of choice and there is an extensive wine list to suit any pocket. With a fantastic chef and a superb team of people working to make sure your every need is catered for you are spoilt as each course arrives to your table, always very well presented from the imaginative starters to locally produced food for the main event and tantalising deserts, no good for the diet conscious though!
You leave Linthwaite after an excellent breakfast well rested, well fed and generally well cared for.
Any good critic will present a balanced view but it is difficult to find a negative from our own experience and we would certainly continue to recommend this hotel to family and friends,
We can’t wait until our next visit which we hope will be at the end of spring..

Room Tip: Get on the mailing list to receive offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSpices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thanks to CheshireSpices!
What an amazing review. Our Chef's work very hard all the time and this sort of feedback is so good for them. All we have to do now is convince those famous guide people (not just Michelin) but the AA, Hardens, and the plethora of online recommenders that now exist to give Chef and his team and the restaurant the medals to match. Having said that, the most important thing is to keep the paying guests happy and that's our first priority always.
Come back soon!
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
170
1,008
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Small glitch with lack of bathroom heating did not spoil a wonderful stay. Food truly memorable (hope the owners retain the services of the head chef!!) Staff friendly, very efficient and extremely helpful. Room very comfortable, quiet and private with it's own outside door. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJtravellers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Lots of people are telling us we must hang on to the Chef because the food is delicious but we usually do! In one of my other responses on this site I mentioned the food guides. The irony is that if Chef does get the awards then there is the real threat of the wonderful headhunters trying to steal him from under our noses. We have had the business almost 21 years, and had 5 Head Chefs in that time. Only one stayed less than a year.
Anyway, thanks very much for the superb review!
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Myself and my partner have been lucky enough to stay in many luxury hotels all over the world, on business and pleasure, and Linthwaite House ranks right up there in the top two or three. We had a fantastic one night break with numerous highlights: a beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room (number 14) with a spectacular view across woodland down to Lake Windermere; sitting in the Summerhouse by the Tarn on Saturday afternoon as the sun set (see photo); a great dinner on Saturday night; a solid 9 hour sleep in a huge bed with crisp and soft, high thread-count cotton sheets, to be woken by glorious birdsong; a great breakfast; one of the hotel's recommended walks (even if it was raining); and a truly decadent full afternoon tea.

Hotel staff were brilliant.

Particular highlights: the jug of fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee, the Molton Brown toiletries, the amuse bouche and canapes before dinner and afternoon tea.

This hotel is brilliantly set up and run. Every small detail seems to have been considered and taken care of in advance. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Don't miss the full afternoon tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTravelUK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Wow. Reviews can't get much better than that. Thanks very much, from all of the team.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just back from another stay at the best kept secret in the lake district. Somehow this place manages to get better every time you go. The service, the food, the views - all out of this world.
Many, Many thanks once again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbarrett6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Best kept secret in the Lake District! Thank goodness for the 25,000 or so loyal regulars we have who come and stay at Linthwaite again and again. Some come five times a year, others every five years. There are so many good places to go around the world, in England or just in the Lakes, that we are very blessed!
Many thanks for this wonderful review.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I have lost count of the amount of times we have stayed here... we started coming in 1999 as a young couple with no sprogs. We now return with love handles, grey hair and wrinkles (still the right side of 40 though) in a vain attempt to chill while someone else looks after our delighful 3 children! But CHILL we do - we love it. It ticks all the boxes.
Just celebrated our 11th Wedding Anniversary here - and splashed out on the Loft Suite (actually, there are some great deals to be had in March). It was FAB! Huge room, loads of remote controls and a bath to die for. Oooh, and you can watch TV in it if you fancy!
We didn't want to leave the room so made the most of Room Service (prompt & with a smile). Evening dinner downstairs was divine... perfect food and a cracking wine list. Again, top notch service (Hi, Martin!)
For us, the perfect place to unwind and chill. I don't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psjehartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Just home from a 2 night stay at Linthwaite on a dbb basis. We were not disappointed! The hotel and grounds are stunning. The professional warm welcome you receive on arrival remained throughout the stay with staff remembering our names - a lovely personal touch. Dinner was fantastic, sitting in the conservatory with pre dinner drinks and canapés whilst choosing your meal before going through to the dining room was relaxing and a lovely touch. Breakfast also very good, well cooked, quality food. Lovely quiet location but central enough to reach everywhere by car. Would not hesitate to recommend, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireyc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thanks very much indeed for the very complimentary review; it is what makes it all worthwhile.
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We recently stayed at Linthwaite for the first time. The staff were welcoming and proffessional. The rooms and public area's were imaculately clean and well maintained. Modern & stylish yet comfortable and unpretentious. The food was exceptional and the standard of service we received throughout our stay couldn't be faulted. If you're looking for a privately run hotel, where quality of service really matters, in a convenient and beautiful location, this one would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngiebRibbleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Wonderful. It's a very interesting question isn't it? Thanks a lot for the very kind review.
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing