We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely pub in the heart of Bowness”
Review of Angel Inn

Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really lovely pub in the heart of Bowness”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were so pleased we chose the Angel over the other pubs. The beer garden was lovely, service really efficient and the food was lovely, fresh and very filling!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLLo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    345
    92
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool,England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“V Good Pub food and dog friendly”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited the Angel Inn for an early evening dinner. The pub is in a lovely position with nice terraced gardens. However the weather was poor on the day we visited so we could not sit outside. We were invited to sit with our dog in either of the front rooms.We ordered the lamb steak and it was cooked to perfection. Although not cheap at £17.00 each it was worth it .If you are in the area this is well worth a visit. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub food and very family friendly”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very well designed pub with lovely gardens to enjoy the stunning views. Good menu and excellent children's section. Not the cheapest but excellent quality and very well presented. Friendly staff, lots of books (including children's), magazines and papers to peruse over and beer served in excellent condition. Highly reccomended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and helpful staff.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A family party of 6 chose a variety of dishes and not one complaint, not even from sister in law! Father is disabled and they moved things around and were more than helpful. If the 10oz Cured ham chop is on, don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kennamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but quiet.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stopped here for a sandwich, pricey but you get what you paid for & it was the best sandwich I've had in my week in The Lake District. We were drawn to The Angel as it looked quiet & was up on a hill giving good views. The staff were extremely friendly & polite & there was plenty of seating inside & out. If I'm ever in the area again, I'd certainly visit & would hope to stay over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing