We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find - great location and food”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a find - great location and food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my husband and father on an evening mom didn't want to come out. Sat inside the restaurant which had a lovely bistro vibe to it. Of particular favourite gor me was the lage seated Buddha by the door - something that always relaxes me.

So food - amazing. Particulary the bowls of muscles to start. Followed by the chicken and chorizo pasta was a delight. Would definitely go back next time we are up there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your great comments about the food, atmosphere and decor. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    459
    207
    104
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely place to eat the food was amazing! The atmosphere was really nice. Was very busy when we went in but still managed to get a table. Staff really friendly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephCav2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, innovative food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here on the last night of our trip to the Lake District and were bowled over by the brilliant food, beautiful and tasty cocktails and the great staff. I had the lasagne and it was the best lasagne I've ever had! My partner had the Thai mussels and the haggis and found both delicious. The mussels were the starter size but would have easily been enough for a full meal. I would recommend this to anyone visiting. The owner/manager was very visible and was changing cocktails and rearranging food to ensure perfection. Wholeheartedly impressed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you Sophie L for your fantastic feedback regarding the food. To hear that it was the best lasagne you have ever had makes us very proud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I visited The Village whilst on a weekend break in Windermere.

I had the slow roasted ribs, which was huge and I was unable to finish, my husband had the mussells which came in a huge steaming pot - both meals were excellent.

Whilst there was a bit of a wait, we didnt mind as the atmosphere was very nice.

Would go back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent choices in a fabulous venue”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really worth a visit - varied menu which is better than others available in Bowness.
The outside space is great whilst the inside is very impressive - the owners know how to make you relaxed after a hard day on holiday.
We both had the Tandoori chicken breast which had great taste and was great value.
Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough.
The place is very popular in the evening because the sun is on the outside space so get there early if its one of those few nice days in the Lakes!!!
The outside space was immaculately clean even though its busy.
We will visit again.

Of note it is associated with the Queens Head at Troutbeck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing