We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a great pub in the heart of Bowness, esp. good when the sun's out you can sit on the terracing and watch the world go by, deffinitely worth a visit and the 'cumberland pie' is worth it's weight in gold.

I mean that because it weigh's a ton!!...in general there is a good selection of food and drink

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks, Colin D, for your great comments. We have actually just got brand new outdoor seating furniture, so there are even more seats than before to enjoy a cocktail in the sun!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,180 - 1,184 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste your time here. We went for dinner and it was a bizarre and not particularly pleasant experience.
There was only 3 staff in the whole place. Not there fault, they tried there best but they were run ragged and needed more help.
The food was awful! We both had burgers that arrived on what could only be described as hard slices of garlic bread. It was awkward to eat and looked a complete car crash! There was so much food on the plate, none of it actually tasted of anything! No atmosphere either.
This place has real potential and looks the part, unfortunately it is in desperate need of more staff and better organisation.
Go elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hoob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

I am sorry to read your review and can see that the Village Inn obviously isn't the place for you. I can't understand your comment that there was no atmosphere as we are a very busy, popular and vibrant destination. However, you clearly had a negative outlook from start to finish which is a personal choice.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We ate here while staying in bowness, we were seen to very quickly but the restaurant and bar soon starting filling up. It was a Monday evening and there was three staff on all of who were very polite and friendly just very busy. After our food we wanted a couple of cocktails served in the bar, this took quite a while to be served. The food was a good quality and very reasonable prices for a nice meal out would definitely recommend.

Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks Sinead! It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the food and cocktails at the Village Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Went here after reading reviews looks good from outside & is even better inside nice ambience good selection of beers. Ordered mains pork ribs and the gammon both where to die for well cooked & very tasty. Food is presented well & staff are polite friendly & helpful. Thank you all for a good night

Thank simmo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks Simmo90! We are delighted to have been part of your great night out in Bowness, and glad to hear how much you enjoyed the fresh cooked food and selection of ales!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Modern relaxing decor! Great atmosphere, gorgeous food! Would recommend booking on a Friday or Saturday as very popular.

Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks Gill W! We look forward to seeing you again for more tasty food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing