We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great decor.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great decor.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The decor and ambience in this restaurant was great.

The food was really good too, although we had a long wait and it wasn't particularly busy.

Will definitely return with more friends next time though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bren181254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    440
    201
    101
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish pub, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

You can tell this pub has recently been refurbished and has a relaxed atmosphere. It was quite busy when we went and they were understaffed but coped quite well. I can highly recommend the venison burgers but everybody elses food looked good too. The prices were reasonable too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inkypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A much changed pub.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate here five years ago, when it was a traditional pub with the usual food options. It has been refurbished recently in a more modern style (not to my taste). The food was plentiful but pricey and very distinguished. The wine was expensive and the selection of hand pulled beers now reduced to two (there have been six in the past)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“village bargrill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

ate here on last night of our stay, gutted wish we had tried this earlier in the week. food was excellent and portions very generous.my wife had a goats cheese starter and then ultimate burger for mains, i had soup of the day to start and grilled chicken for main all excellent
the soup was carrot and coriander and was served in the largest soup bowl ever.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very modern and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Brief visit to Bowness at beginning of June. Called into the Village Inn for couple of pints. We had already eaten, but were wishing we had not, as the food we saw being served looked fantastic. The décor is very modern and very comfortable. Quite different to what we were expecting to see in the village pub. Lovely atmosphere. We were drinking real ale which was fine. Our only negative comment was in relation to service. We had to wait quite a while at the bar to be served just drinks. Whilst there we did notice service generally was slow. It is quite a big place, both inside and out and should probably have more staff on than they had when we visited. We would go back again to try out the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing