We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definatly on the decline”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“definatly on the decline”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

went a couple of times last year, food to die for, returned last week, food poor at best service ok value for money no, still very busy but think its riding on past reputation and location, not good at all

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank veb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    478
    212
    107
    140
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by the lovely decor of this pub/restaurant, very friendly staff who seated myself & my boyfriend straight away. My boyfriend ordered a fish platter which was presented beautiful on a slate, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had a gorgeous chicken Caesar salad, which was lovely. I fully recommend this restaurant., and will definitely be back again next time we're in The Lakes. X

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SlopperChopsRachyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for such a lovely review. It is always nice to hear that people enjoy what we do so much!

We are particularly proud of the beautiful decor at the Village Inn, and so glad that you liked it. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the wonderful Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - stuffed afterwards”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We ordered food for 4 adults - we only had main courses and we were stuffed afterwards. We had a wait for drinks as I think they forgot. Overall very good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal600908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, feedback is always greatly received.

I would first of all like to apologise for the delays in getting your drinks to you, but glad that this slight delay did not tarnish your otherwise great experience.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good birthday meal out”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went to The Village Inn on April 4th to celebrate my birthday. We were staying at White Cross Bay so drove to the restsurant. We were lucky enough to get a parking space directly outside the restsurant too.

It was my husband, 6 month old daughter and myself that attended.

We hadnt booked and were given a nive table straight away. We were sat in the window.
We werent offered a high hair for the baby which was unusual as everywhere usually offers.. it wasnt a problem as she sat on our knees and went in her pram whilst we ate.

The waiter took our order - unlike expectec ax the website stated that you place your order at the bar.

I ordered a rose wine which was served in the best wine glass!! A fancy wine glass makes it taste better ;)
We ordered the camembert sharing plate to start. It was delicious but could of done with a few more slices of bread as there was lots of melted cheese left once the bread ran out. It was served with a really tasty chutney that perfected the dish.

There was a nice gap between the next dish arriving. We didnt feel at all rushed.

Then i had the chicken in a creamy garlic mushroom sauce and ny husband had the gammon.
The portions were very generous, the presentation was excellent and the food was delicious! We both had to leave half of our chips!

We were too full for dessert, but they looked amazing!! I rwally wanted a trifle as I'd seen them when we arrived in the dessert cabinet and they looked divine, but I couldn't!

The negatives, after we finished our mains we sat for twenty minutes waiting for the waiter to return so we could ask for the bill. We had finished our dribks too so were literally sat waitibg - altjough we eere chatting, In the end i got up and asked for the bill as we needed to leave. It took another ten minutes to arrive and then we waited ten minutes to pay but he never came back and we went and paid at the bar. The end bit tainted an excellent meal as we didnt want to sit around for an extra forty minutes as the baby needed to get to bed. The same happened to the tabke next to us and they came and paid at the bar also.
So even if we'd wanted dessert we weren't offered it, or extra drinks.

As we left people were queuing out of the door for a tabke so it was odd that they left us sat so long missing out on extra business. It is nice not to be rushed in a meal, but the rnd part was too long!

The restsurant is lovely - it has nice decor, is contemporary and comfortable and has a great atmosphere. The food is delicious and worth every penny. They just need to rectify the service a little.

We would return, but would need a highchair ib future as the baby will also be eating next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carla_hursty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I do apologise for the negative aspects of your experience, this was an oversight on our part. We do get very busy, but that is no excuse for the delays in service and for not offering the high chair. I do hope that this did not tarnish your experience.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the beautiful decor of the Village Inn and had a great meal with us. All of the desserts are made fresh daily, and are very tasty, so I hope you will still have room for one next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wait wait and wait”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

yes if you like waiting hours for a table this is the place to go .The staff are complacent and let others jump the que for whatever reason.It is a diabolical and a shameful way to organise a restaurant and deserves to be rewarded with customers not patronising the place . We for sure will not be returning after waiting over an hour and then our table being given to another party of people who had only been there about 20 minutes .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieS115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing