We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Friendly - would definitely go back”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you walk in the first thing you want to do is grab a sofa by the open fire!! (sit there too lang and you'll be asleep!). The barman was very chatty and gave us all the info we wanted. We decided to have our main meal here and it was delish. the chips came out in mini chip pans which were a nice quirky touch. The staff overall were very attentive and made sure we got everything we needed. Overall a fab place to chill/eat. Would be sure to visit here again.

Thank SarahandRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We make a huge effort at the Queen's Head to make sure it is a welcoming and relaxing retreat where you can sit by the fires and get away from it all.

Great to hear you enjoyed the service and the food, and appreciate your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,511 - 1,515 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is marvellous here- portions are not small and the quality is great. We will be back in the summer for sure.

Thank Dalesdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Great review. Hope to see you hear again in the Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed at the howbeck and came down for lunch, greeted by the friendliest man, tempted us into dinner that evening, he had us in stitches all afternoon we couldn't wait to get back their that night, all the stops were pulled out on a service level and never been better looked after, we don't live in bowness but will be back, great food, lovely atmosphere, have to point out Carl as outstanding, tahnks for making a special day, special!!!!!! be back soon table 5!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CARLO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

All our staff wear name badges so its great when customers compliment then personally! It definitely keeps them happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Called in for a spot of lunch on Friday 8th March, were staying at the Low Wood hotel to celebrate my husbads 30th. Were greeted as we entered the grill with a by a very pleasant man, and were swifltly seated wherever we wished to sit.We had a lovely window table to watch the world go by.The food was absolutely delicious, all fresly cooked, it was just wonderful. We both ordered desserts which were gorgeous, huge portions, but we didnt leave any!We would have loved to have gone back to eat there on the Saturday evening to celebrate my husbands Birthday, however, you cant book a table for less than a group of 6, so we couldnt take the chance of just turning up incase we couldnt get a table- we genuinely would have loved to eat there again.Will definately go back, probably not of an evening though incase we cant get a table, real shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, and hope your husband enjoyed his 30th birthday.

Great to hear this great reviews and compliments flowing in, the Village Inn must definitely be doing something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staff were so friendly and funny! Really good atmosphere inside!

Had a great meal, food was so tastey, I had the Mussels which were awsome and my partener had the Ultimate Burger which he said was delish!

Will definately go back next time we are in the area!

Thank Sunshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Great review - our mussels and ultimate burger are 2 of our most popular dishes so we are very glad you enjoyed them so much so to write about them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing