We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely late Sunday lunch”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely late Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We did not really have a restaurant in mind for a late lunch as walked around Bowness and decided to try the Village Inn as it looked very cosy and the rain was not going to stop any time soon. We were pleasantly surprised! The decor in the bar was modern, yet cosy. The staff were very friendly, but a bit hesitant at times - a good training course will make them even better assets. The food was very good, but be warned that the portions are very generous indeed! We had a very enjoyable afternoon, so thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaLisa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Village Inn - we make sure the log burning fires are roaring all day to create a cosy warm atmosphere throughout the day. We served breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner to cater for any requirements and at any time of the day.

We work hard with our staff, and training is on going.

I am glad you had a lovely afternoon at the Village and hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    459
    207
    104
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Compliments to Chef and front of house staff!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stumbled on to the Village Inn after a last minute recommendation from our taxi driver (we were informed our venue of choice was no longer serving food at 8pm).
The staff were immediately attentive and thoroughly professional which continued throughout our meal.
I am always mildly apprehensive when eating out as my fiancée is a head chef and consequently expects the food to be to the same standard she would provide from her kitchen...to my utmost relief the Village Inn did not disappoint her (or me)!
The presentation of each dish was only surpassed by the taste. Of particular note, should be the pot of fresh Mussels, cooked to order in Marinière sauce, served with a crusty roll, which for only £6.95 was excellent value (and the sauce, I'm informed was excellent). The sole slightly negative point would be that the chips served were not homemade, but frankly if they had been I suspect we would have made complete gluttons of ourselves!
I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone and we will most certainly be repeat customers next time we are in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Fantastic review! Great to hear that someone in the trade really enjoyed their meal at the Village Inn and appreciates the hard work that goes on to makes a visit here really special.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to another visit from you when you are next in the Lake District. We have our new menu being launched this weekend so come and try our new creations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pouring down with rain at lunch time, looking around for somewhere to eat was off the menu. From outside this place looks modern but not all that inviting, but once inside its clean and contemporary but the open fire and candles lend it a warmth that's very comforting when it's storming outside. Onion and potatoe bhaji starter was very tasty with lots of fresh crispy salad and great flavours. Mains of Lamb Shank and Chargrilled Chicken were both lovely, the vegetables particularly expertly cooked, even if the Lamb was a touch over cooked. All in alla great place to stumble on and will certainly go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank srj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Due to the fact that the Village Inn is located a little further away from the road it may be hard to see what it is like - but as you can see it is definitely worth a look! In the summer the beer garden is full and on a warm, sunny day the village inn pours out into the front.

However the Village Inn, during in the wintery months provides a cosy, warm and inviting atmosphere to retreat to; whether you just want a cake and a coffee, a light lunch or a romantic dinner. The Village Inn offers something for everyone.

I am glad you enjoyed the onion bhajis, your lamb shank and the char grilled chicken. We make everything from fresh, we make our own pasta, and make sure the Village Inn offers something a little different in the village. In the next couple of weeks we will be updating our menu with a few new exciting additions to look out for!

Great to hear from you, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose the Village Inn for our meal when we first arrived in Bowness and we were not dissappointed by the experience.This pub/restaurant is down by the waterfront and in a nice location with the pub having the facilities for eating both inside and out.The staff were good and always welcoming and the menu has plenty of options and is reasonably priced.We ordered a starter and main and we were all struggling to finish our main courses off due to the size of the portions we received.The whole experience we received at the Village Inn was brilliant and the price including drinks for 2 people was very good and we cannot recommend this place enough.We will certainly make the Village Inn the place were we eat and drink in the future when we next visit Bowness.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to the Village Inn.

Your review means a lot to us and shows us that the hard work we put in to the food, the service, the atmosphere at the Village Inn is working.

We hope to see you return in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A cosy, welcoming place to stop for a drink.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely coffee in the afternoon here yesterday when it was snowing and we sat in front of a lovely coal fire in comfy seats and passed the time away, very relaxing atmosphere. We also returned in the evening for a drink and it was busier, good atmosphere, mixture of people, a lovely pub to enjoy.
The only downside was we asked for draught becks and this was off, asked for Peroni draught and this was off so my boyfriend had his 3rd choice of beer..... But this was I'm sure a 1 off....

I love the decor and Thai feel to this place, well definitely return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank elly1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Village Inn is a great place to visit whether you just want a coffee and a homemade cake; a light lunch; a fantastic dinner out or just a quick drink or a cocktail at the bar.

Regarding the beer, the becks was off, however the Peroni just needed the barrel changing so we apologise if your boyfriend did not get his first choice of ale. However we do have a great selection of ales and lagers to chose from and always recommend trying one of the local ales when visiting the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing