We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an excellent meal here over Christmas... and hadn't booked a table but were greeted by a wonderfully, helpful and friendly waitress. The food was not slow in arriving and tasted excellent. I had the spaghetti bolognese, which is always a good choice to compare with other restaurants and I have to say this was the best I have tasted when out, and would have been pleased to have made it myself! The ONLY criticism we would have is that the portions were large which resulted in us sending food back, but ONLY because we couldn't eat anymore of it. We will certainly call in again next time we are in Bowness!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal here over Christmas and if you're only comment is that the portions are too big, we must be doing something right!

Thank you once again for your praise, and I would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    470
    210
    105
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“eatery”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

it was an excellant meal.the staff were very friendly and confident i would definately reccomend it to couple and families

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley022699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your comments and am happy to know that you had an excellent meal at the Village Inn.Thank you for recommending us, and we do hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and value for money”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

4 friends on a Christmas treat! Love the log fires, extensive menus and fantastic food . Presentation and attention to detail is first class !!! FAB we will be back !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharifiandShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Perfect review, thank you very much for rating us so highly!

Hope to see you again soon in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windermere
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice decor - mediocre food.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Local person eating here with some friends. The restaurant is lovely and the food was presented nicely. Quite pricey tho and the food just tasted average really. Loads of better places in Bowness to eat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isaac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My pet hate when going to a restaurant is being told off for not booking,(especially when the restaurant was as quiet as it was that night) by a waitress who was obviously expecting a quiet sunday night in work!! we were taken to a nice table for two, and ordered drinks which arrived in around 5 minutes, quite a while to wait for a peroni and a coke when your one of two tables in the restaurant ! The same waitress that greeted us when we arrived took our food Order. The size of the steaks was not stated on the menu so as most people would before paying 22.50 for a steak you would ask what size they were ! The waitress laughed and tried to show us the size using a hand gesture! My partner then asked if it was an 8oz steak and the waitress replied with "kind of", talk about great menu knowledge! We both ordered garlic bread to start, and tbone steaks at £21 each for our main course. Both courses were cooked and brought to the table in a reasonable time, the garlic bread was lovely ! The portions were great! The steaks themselves however were quite the opposite! We were not given steak knives so we thought that's why we couldn't cut our steaks, however even with steak knives it proved challenging ! Mine was just about edible However my partner couldn't eat hers at all due to the amount of fat. No body checked back on our meals so we were not given the option to have fresh steaks made! We informed the waitress there was a problem when she cleared us and she said she would send over the 'manager' who was wearing the same uniform as everybody else and happened to be the person that didn't give us our steak knives ! He didn't apologise however gave us 50% off the one steak, even though she barley touched her meal at all ! Overall not a great dining experience, probably won't be returning, a little staff training wouldn't go a miss!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OleGunnarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you thought we were average. I was aware of the issue with the steaks, and when the dishes were cleared they did return relatively clear. The Manager did address your comments at the time and did discount a steak for you and apologised.

We do make sure all our customers are happy and do our upmost for them. I am glad you enjoyed the garlic bread and the portions, and thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing