We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
1 review
“Abysmal”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my girlfriend were visiting lake windermere for the very first time, and we were having a lovely time. It was our last night and after spending most of the afternoon looking for somewhere nice to eat and reading through numerous menus we finally decided to visit the Village Inn Bar & Grill.

We eventually visited the restaurant and as we got inside a member of staff walked up to us and asked how could he help. We replied with a table for 2 please. He said we'd have a 5 minute wait as it was slightly busy but there were a couple about to leave. After 15 minutes of waiting patiently and no one coming to tell us how long we would have left before we got seated a family of 3 came in and wanted a table for 3. The person who served us as we arrived mentioned to them they were full and would have to wait 30-45 minutes for a table as they didn't reserve one. They then started to look around the restaurant to see if they could spot an empty table and they did. As impatient as they were they asked yet again the same person who served us as we arrived 'would it be possible to remove the glasses off that table and sit on that one' instead of him saying 'sorry, we have some people that have been waiting for a table for a while now, I'm afraid you'll have to wait whilst we get a different table for you' he agreed to them on moving the empty glasses and they sat down 5 minutes after they arrived.

Another 15 minutes patiently waiting we eventually got a table and ordered our food. However, the starter we ordered took it's time to reach our table and neither of us were enjoying ourselves at all.

When the main arrived I was disappointed with the fillet of salmon I received compared to the vast amounts of salad. it wasn't very balanced at all. and taking into account that the previous night we visited The Lighthouse in Windermere and I ordered salmon yet again and the fillet was much larger and the meal itself was a lot cheaper. I would be happy paying the full price of the meal I ordered at Village Inn Bar & Grill if it was equally proportioned!

I did mention this to the waitress that came over to collect our plates and she notified her supervisor who then came over to speak to us. I told her the whole situation that had occurred and she offered to give us a complimentary dessert or to reimburse the cost of our drinks.

Overall, it was a horrible experience to end the last night away and I wouldn't recommend going there for anyone at all for that matter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garry26293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

This matter was brought to my attention before your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that the salmon was inproportionate to the salad it was served with. I have checked the salmon sizes, obviously not the one you were served, but the rest seem to be of a reasonable size and we do also pride ourselves on our fresh and tasty salads.
After you made us aware of your salmon on the night, you were offered something by way of an apology as we like to keep our customers happy, but we felt that you did not have a real issue to make a complaint about.

We do not take bookings for parties under 6 as customers as we provide a first come first serve basis due to the quick turnaround of tables. We do have a booking system in place each night and write down names and times of those waiting for a table. We do feed in excess of 500 people on a very busy day. We have had this salmon on the menu for over 12 months and we have never had a complaint about the salmon. This is an isolated incident and I apologise if you were not fully happy with your evening at the Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    481
    214
    111
    141
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great place to eat or just chill”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Bowness at the end of October and after trying a couple of other places decided to eat here the food is great and plentyful with reasonable prices and great staff very child friendly with a good menu choice for children. We also popped in one afternoon and had a great time playing noughts and crosses and dominoes good choice of beers and wines all in all a great place to have a meal or take it easy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. The Village Inn does try very hard to make sure everyone who comes through the doors enjoys their visit; from young children, families, couples and big groups.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, drinks and had fun playing the games laid out on the tables in the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

excellent food, helpful staff amazing restaurant and bar, stunning inside, so much choice on the menu and it tastes and looks amazing! restaurant very warm if your near radiator!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gem87NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Full marks for the Village Inn, thank you very much! This is great to hear, and thanks to guests who have taken the time to write reviews and praise our hard work, we had risen up the rankings of restaurants in Windermere! We are continuing to provide that standard of service, and one day we might be rank 1st on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great service nice food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed in bowness for 2 nites we ate here on both nites good food and good service a lot better than most we have been to

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris32sadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for your review. we really appreciate all feedback and it is great to hear that you liked the Village Inn so much you visit us on both your nights here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Make sure you have the right money"”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Dont get me wrong the village inn has lovely food it is fab however I DECIDE what to give as a tip not the staff, after a fantastic meal we asked for the bill gave the money to the waitress and after 20 embarrassing minutes still did not receive my change. She walked past a few times.Don't get me wrong i always leave a tip but i decide on what the tip will be not the the village inn. Still did not get my change ended up walking out but their loss will not be returning neither will our friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing