We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service nice food”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great service nice food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed in bowness for 2 nites we ate here on both nites good food and good service a lot better than most we have been to

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris32sadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for your review. we really appreciate all feedback and it is great to hear that you liked the Village Inn so much you visit us on both your nights here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    476
    211
    107
    140
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Make sure you have the right money"”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Dont get me wrong the village inn has lovely food it is fab however I DECIDE what to give as a tip not the staff, after a fantastic meal we asked for the bill gave the money to the waitress and after 20 embarrassing minutes still did not receive my change. She walked past a few times.Don't get me wrong i always leave a tip but i decide on what the tip will be not the the village inn. Still did not get my change ended up walking out but their loss will not be returning neither will our friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great night out”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent restaurant with well prepared food and generous portions at reasonable prices. As a previous poster has already stated the Chile con carne is the best ever, as are the chips served in quirky metal baskets. We went on two successive nights, each time it was really busy which is a testament to the high quality food. Other diners were raving over the mussels. Excellent wines are available at the reasonable cost of £14 for a bottle, also a good assortment of lagers and draught beers. The staff were also very friendly and efficient. Very easy to find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 301Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Read some nonsense on here about people sitting next to fires that are too hot (it's called a fire for a reason; could you not move?!), and about the attitude of the waitresses, and about the general quality of the food, all of which struck me in one way or another when my family and I visited yesterday. The atmosphere was great; it was heavily influenced by east Europe/ Turk/ Morrocan stylings, and very jazzy. We sat next to the fire on a low table with noughts and crosses on it, which the 6 year old loved. Beer was great - mixture of cool lagers, real ale etc. Even had Wychwood Green Goblin on draught. Now; the food: we ordered a cumberland sausage baguette and soup. The food arrived in no longer than about 10 minutes. The sausage baguette was fantastic, with a date chutney that was gorgeous. The waitresses were very nice; kept their distance but were there when you needed them. Despite being a busy tourist Sunday, the place was not too busy and service was excellent. And finally, to address another seemingly negative point: the place is very easy to find. It's on the main drag between Bowness town centre (the busy roundabout) and the harbour, opposite the church. Great place all in all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FungasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food. Not so great staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Great food and great atmosphere that was unfortunately overshadowed by the level of customer service given by the east European staff, and being sat next to a blazing fire, that gave out so much heat that it warmed our wine.

It's a shame, as there is huge potential for this to be the best place in town, but whilst they employ (foreign) waitress's that are unaware of what empathy or customer service is, they will struggle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshallO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing