We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruskin's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruskin's
manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

As far as value for money goes Ruskins is good compared to other B and Bs in Bowness, it is central for other pubs and resteraunts, the bed was really comfy, however I felt that the room was tired and there was a big damp patch on the wall, the toilet roll holder was falling off so I put it on the floor and the following day it had just been propped back, the room we had was looking onto the main road so was a bit noisy in the morning, we came in quite late and the bar was still quite lively so if you are a light sleeper or go go to bed early I wouldnt recommend it, the breakfast was ok but not the best ( I am just a firm believer in good quality produce so may be a bit picky) I dont think I would return as I would rather pay a little extra next time for a nicer room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    12
    13
    23
See reviews for
12
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We only stayed the one night but the service was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean and the bed was very, very comfortable :) we had a room facing the main road which was quite noisy once it became early morning, but other than that we would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaintNmyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Overall for the price of Bed & Breakfast, location, hospitality and comfort we were more than happy.

Nice big beds with a thick cosy duvet. Warm and comfortable room with enough space to not feel claustrophobic. The shower room was quite large too even if some of the fixtures were a tiny bit on the tired side.

We got a full, well cooked English breakfast every morning which was freshly cooked to order. That also came with the usual selection of cereals, pastries and drinks. Sorted us out and fueled us for the day. Very nice.

The location was excellent. Well within walking distance of both Bowness and Windermere centres. We preferred Bowness so it was ideal for us.

Overall, The welcome we received was very warm, room was very nice and the price and the location was spot on. I'd recommend and I will more than likely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just stopped here for one night. The lovely four popster bedroom was impressive, but a little warm! The bathroom was a tad tired but fully functional. The service was sound, breakfast was standard and the location was fantastic. A great base for a night round Bowness.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramshackles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed here the last Sunday in August for 1 night for my birthday. As soon as we arrived we were told there was free parking around the corner from the hotel near some houses and a sports field. Once we had parked up we went back into the hotel which is just like a pub and the barman checked us in, gave us our keys and showed us through a side door leading from the pub into the passageway then up the stairs to our room. We were on the first floor. Since it was my birthday they put us in a room with a huge four poster bed which you would have normally had to pay more for but we didn’t which was nice! This must have been a family room as it also had an extra single bed in it. The room also had a nice flatscreen TV and DVD player, and tea and coffee making facilities. We were also given a key to the actual front door of the hotel in case we were returning late.

The location was excellent as it was smack bang in the middle of Bowness and only about a 5-10 minute walk to the Lake itself. The weather wasn’t particularly good and was quite windy but we still managed to have our picnic at the Lake. We had friends staying in the Winderemere Hotel which was located about a mile away so we enjoyed a nice stroll that evening to their hotel and stopped at a few pubs on the way all of which were really nice.

Ruskins is in such a good location that you don’t have to walk far for something to eat or drink and we had a great time. The following morning I was a bit worse for wear and didn’t manage to make it down for breakfast. My partner did though and the staff said he could bring my breakfast up to our room which is apparently not normally allowed. I thought this was very kind of them and was extremely grateful after my birthday night out!

Before returning home we went for a long walk around Bowness as the weather was much better than the previous day and actually quite warm. Wish we had stayed for more than 1 night!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Took advantage of the fabulous weather at the end of Sept 11. Received a very warm well come
when we arrived on Thursday evening. Too be included by the locals to play poker! Great night Steve. Well what can I say rooms where comfortable staff excellent. If you want a casual weekend and want a good time go to Ruskins. Breakfast great oh and thanks Alan and Graham for the invites out. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Carol and Ray

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The place was just not for us. We were expecting an old fashioned friendly old English pub but from the moment we booked in we did not feel relaxed in the place. We were due to stay 2 nights but only managed 1 which was a real shame. The breakfast was ok.The room was very basic but did the job but just something about the place that made us feel uncomfortable. Maybe it was because we were on a touring holiday and had already stayed in some very nice old English pubs with great atmospheres that we expected them all to be of the same standard. We just found the place by chance and booked over the phone. Mind you we were gutted to be charged for the night we did not stay as we did not see the cancellation policy re having to give notice by 10 the evening before. But after returning and looking on web site we can see that now. I did say to manager when booking out as we had booked over phone we had not been made aware of the cancellation policy and if we had we would have told them the night we arrived we would not be staying a 2 nd one which would have saved us £65 but that's business. Just a shame for us that the place did not suit us or we did not suit the place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonediz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#12 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#23 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin's

Property: Ruskin's
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ruskin`s Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Ruskin's Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing