We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the money”
Review of Bowness Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bowness Bay Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

just stayed here for two nights , the room is clean and very stylish , bathroom is of the standard of a boutique hotel anywhere in Europe . windows are double glazed so noise is not a problem .
we were in the hill top suite so had a great view of the lake and the continental breakfast served in your room is a refreshing change to the usual full English in a dinning room . we have enjoyed every minute of our stay and have picked up a discount voucher from reception to book again in the future .
not the cheapest place to stay in bowness on windermere but worth every penny , cant wait to stay again , came away for a quiet two night break and loved every minute .

Room Tip: try to book the hill top suite or the other one on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here on 1st July for 2 nights. We stayed in a room on the top floor which had an amazing view of the Lake.
A continental breakfast is served to the room between 9 and 9.30am. Cereal, toast, croissants and fruit. We ate out breakfast sat at the main window with it open so we could look over at the Lake. Perfect!

The hotel is located right in the middle of Bowness so is close to all the bars and restaurants. You also get free passes to the Macdonald Spa and can use the sauna, steam room, ice room and pool free of charge. This was great for us as on Tuesday the weather was quite bad.

The hotel staff were really friendly and run a fab little hotel. I would recommend this place 100% and would stay there again if I was to return to The Lakes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor offer the best views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a short stay in the Lake District. The Bowness Bay Suites are a really nice and comfortable place to stay. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable with the upper floor suites giving a nice view of Lake Windermere. Although right in the center of Bowness and only five minutes walk from the lake side our top floor suite was very quiet. Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. In addition to good accommodation I would recommend using the complimentary spa passes for the Macdonald hotel just across the road. After a long day walking with aching muscles it was a welcome bonus to have a sauna and a swim at no extra cost. The breakfast was a very nice continental breakfast and very filling although just a little late at 9.30am but this is the only negative I can think of and would recommend Bowness Bay suites to anyone.

Room Tip: Upper floor for a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemygarden56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms are as good as everyone who has previously reviewed says! Very comfortable, lovely sitting area to relax, comfy beds and great bathroom. The breakfast was also excellent. We can never normally be bothered to get up for breakfast so it was great to be able to take it in our room and eat at leisure! The location is also great, right in the centre of Bowness, 2 mins from all the pubs & restaurants and the ferry. The only gripe I had was that the view from our room wasn't what I was expecting. We were on the ground floor and required some imagination to say it had a lake view! On balance a great choice!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment doesn't have a good lake view, maybe try one of the ones higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A Weekend away with my sister and brother in law, she had booked the rooms and what a good choice.Well situated in the heart of Bowness, the rooms were delightful, well appointed with views over the lake. Comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, fire and sofa. The only downside was the breakfast which is brought to your room and is continental in style, there is plenty but if you enjoy a full english breakfast this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My 1st time in the lakes was 2003. We come back ever year

Bowness Bay Suites used to be called Belsfield house.

This was the 1st place I have ever stopped in the Lake District back in 2003

The rooms are huge, very modern and trendy.

Breakfast is served to your room. Breakfast is continental. Plenty of it, very filling. It’s great to sit and have breakfast with the view of lakes too

We stopped in cat bells room which is on the top floor.

We stopped for 3 nights

Great location, walking distance of the bars and restaurants too.

You also get a free pass to the new refurbished MacDonald hotel which you can use there swimming pool, sauna etc.

I highly recommend you visit. Amazing place. Excellent value for money too.

Ps: We got engaged here!!!

Thank you Marie

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sootybear26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fab location, very short walk away from Lake, we only stayed one night but could have easily stayed another. The only downside was the lack of spa facilities you have to go to the McDonald hotel 2 mins away, nothing wrong with that but both venues are priced the same I chose here because the reviews were much better, however upon using the facilities at the McDonald Im not sure why it reviews so bad. Therefore, I think the Suites maybe should re-think its pricing policy or upgrade bathrooms to at least include a jacuzzi bath that way the price wont seem so bad, not that it is but in comparision to the facilities at the McDonald the price should reflect that,but I suppose it depends what you are going away for! Lovely, lovely place though, breakfast was great aswell!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowness Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowness Bay Suites

Address: 4 Belsfield Terrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England (Formerly Belsfield House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $132 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bowness Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowness Bay Suites is situated in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere. Close to all the restaurants, pubs, shops and just 2 minutes walking distance from Lake Windermere. Each individually named suite comprises bedroom area, lounge area and bathroom. 5 of the 6 suites have Juliette balconies which open out for our guests to enjoy the full splendour of the Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. Wide-screen TVs and romantic fires in the lounge area are allow you to completely relax and unwind after your enjoyment of everything the lake has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bowness Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowness Bay Suites Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing