We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location..great service...little expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location..great service...little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

There's a reason its called a bed and breakfast....because that's all you want ...you don't want stories or tasks over breakfast and you don't want owners cleaning your room and folding your clothes up while your out walking ......was overpriced but the entire area is .....we would stop again because its central (but I wunt tell her I wrote this or I might not get a breakfast)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
168
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Originally we booked this B&B for our four-day trip mainly because of its convenient location and - most of all - giving us a clear view of Windermere everyday. However, it was far beyond our expectation and turned out to be the best B&B experience we've ever had in the UK.

The room we stayed was the top loft - a warm, cosy and clean warm room with my dream roof windows in both its bedroom and bathroom. I personally enjoyed the relaxing moments of taking baths as well as being immersed in the beauty of lake view there very much. Strongly recommended.

The hosts - Mrs. May Cottage Sue and Mr. Chef Len - are very friendly and supportive. We were greatly helped by the rich information from Sue since we arrived, although there's some "secret corners" mentioned in Sue's breakfast time stories that we couldn't make this time.
It would be really nice to explore those places and to hear more interesting stories at May Cottage next time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. The lady was super-nice and helpful and provided us with a loft room with lovely roof windows both in the bedroom and in the bathroom. We enjoyed the lake view from our room. The full English breakfast I had there is the best one I've ever had in my life. During the breakfast the lady also shared endless stories about Lake District with us, which enriches our life and vision a lot.

我們在這家B&B住了四個晚上。超級好的老闆娘給我們頂樓有天窗的房間,讓我們可以在房間裡或浴缸裡享受湖區美景。他們提供的英式早餐是我吃過最好吃的!!一定要吃喔~!!此外,老闆娘喜歡在我們吃早餐時講講逗趣的湖區小故事,各種奇人軼事讓我們真的直呼不虛此行。

Room Tip: Ask for room no.3 or room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nash73b91203005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at May Cottage. If you're thinking of spending a night or two in Bowness then you won't regret staying at May Cottage with hosts Sue & Len. Just a minute or two from Bowness centre and the pier. We were in room 1, lovely and spacious, huge bed, very smart bathroom and lots of wardrobe space. Breakfast was plentiful and perfectly cooked. Sue welcomed us and made us feel at home straight away, an encyclopaedia of information (near and far), with a sharp witty sense of humour.
We've stayed in other places in Bowness, but May Cottage is by far the best. If you're travelling by car there is parking at the rear of the property. We left our car there for the whole weekend and either walked or used the local transport, can recommend the £7 all day bus ticket which enables you to jump on and off all of the nearby towns and villages (Ambleside,Grasmere, Hawkshead, Windermere, Bowness etc.).
Thank you Sue & Len for making our stay so welcoming. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoobieBicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

From the moment we stepped into May Cottage we were made to feel like we were 'old friends'. Our room was bright, welcoming and spotless, and the king sized bed proved to be very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the morning.
We didn't avail ourselves of the use of the nearby Burnside Hotel's swimming pool with the free pass available, but maybe next time.
Well done Sue and Len.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DUNCAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently returned from a lovely 2 nights in May Cottage. We were unexpectedly early, but Sue showed us to our room and we were immediately offered tea and coffee. We had the room at the front with a sofa: beautifully clean and with an adjustable radiator.
The location is superb: quiet, but 2 minute walk from the centre of Bowness. Parking is not a problem for small cars, but Sue is happy to park your car for you if its a problem.
Breakfast was very tasty: a selection of cereals, fruit, and traditional cooked breakfast or any variation, accompanied by anecdotes and suggestions of what to do when your in the area.
I unfortunately left my phone in the room at the end of the stay and Sue kindly went to the effort of posting it for me.
When we are next in Bowness we will definitely stay at May Cottage again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordianEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haxey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were two females staying for a walking/relaxing holiday in May Cottage, room 3, with a twin set up. This B&B in Bowness-on-Windermere was a gold mine. On arrival we parked in the private off-road parking space and were warmly welcomed by Sue and Len with a cup of tea brought to the room. Sue offered fantastic advice for nearby walks and attractions, as well as a vast selection of leaflets available in reception. The room was bright, very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a view of the lake and free wi-fi, not to mention the fabulous recently refurbished on suite with bath and shower attachment. Unlimited access to a large pool and spa facilities, practically next door, put this B&B above the rest. Facilities were a well needed treat after a long days walking and Sue even kindly offered to dry off our wet walking gear leaving them folded outside the room. Len’s breakfast every morning was superb, offing fruit salad to start and a full English or breakfast dish cooked to order. The location for a good choice of restaurants and bars was perfect, being only a 2 minute walk to Bowness centre and the lakeside (with ferry access to Ambleside and Lakeside). Overall we have had a fantastic stay and have already recommended May Cottage to friends and family. We couldn’t possibly find anywhere more perfect to stay in the Lake District, thank you Sue and Len.

Room Tip: Full room information and selection is available on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Property: May Cottage
Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — May Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing