We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I ever stayed”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

May Cottage is an excellent B&B, one of the best that I have stayed in. The location is great, within 3-4 mins walking distance to fantastic restaurants and a couple of more mins to the lake and ferry jetty. hey also have an arrangement with a nearby hotel for free use of spa and gym facilities. Free wifi all thru the B&B and speeds are good. Breakfast is excellent. Sue and Len are excellent hosts. They got in touch with me immediately after I finished my booking and gave helpful tips on the lake district and other nearby places all thru. Len also drove me to the station to catch my train. I would say that May Cottage B&B is a multiple STAR accommodation with a personal touch(which is something you miss in the multi STARs). I will definitely come back to May cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I will use three words to describe this 'Hotel' :- SIMPLY THE BEST. My wife and i stayed, at short notice in this B & B and we cannot emphasise how much Sue and Len endeavour to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.Sue imparts her vast knowledge of the area In a memorable format at meal times(no clues so as not to spoil the moments).From the onset ( we arrived in the middle of the night) Sue made our stay exceptional with tea/coffe and sandwiches on our arrival ( herself in attendance 'in the middle of the night' surely an exceptional effort).The breakfast is indeed unbeatable ,the room impeccable,the location perfect ( far enough from centre of town to be quiet yet close enough to 'dander'to the centre) and with secure parking.Altogether we had a perfect experience in this friendly B & B which we could not find fault with and would recommend it very highly. Alex and Maybeth.

Room Tip: No bad rooms and front rooms are not affected by the nearby road,choose with confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyrussell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I were in Bowness to complete the last six miles of the Dalesway Walk. We had to start in Staveley and walk back to Bowness. Hosts Sue and Len offered to drive us to Windemere train station to catch train to Staveley and they even offered to drive us to Staveley if we liked. We had room 3 on the top floor (2nd floor). The room was very clean and well presented. We both loved the tub/shower under the large skylight. Breakfast was all one could want. Throughout our brief stay Sue and Len could not have done more - friendly, polite and enjoyable to visit with. We will certainly stay again and recommend May Cottage to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in May Cottage. the location is great: close to town centre and lakes, lots of attractions nearby. As a couple what we loved here is that we felt like home. The owners Sue & Len made every effort to make our holiday special! My husband and I do not eat pork products so were not having a full english breakfast, Sue especially served croissants for us- which is really thoughtful and proves their attention to detail to make their guests comfy & welcome!
The room, bed & towels were all clean and lovely, I cannot think of anything negative overall- neat, clean, lovely B&B, good value for money, will definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ova I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived in Bowness early morning hoping to secure somewhere to stay at the last minute. The Tourist Information Centre by the lake allowed us use of their IPad to search for nearby B&B's free of charge. We telephoned May Cottage mid morning and secured a room, Sue advised we could call round straight away and leave our bags/car - which was brilliant as it allowed us to spend the day wandering around Bowness without having to worry about time restrictions on parking. For those that know Bowness, May Cottage is situated right behind 'The Bellsfield' - perfect central location.
I note that another reviewer took exception to being asked to remove their shoes in the hall, we too were asked which I personally had no problem with whatsoever as I ask visitors to take their shoes off at the door at home too! Far from taking exception, we took it as a good first impression that the owners took pride in their accommodation!
The room itself was clean, tidy, beautiful modern bathroom - ticked all boxes, everything you could need.
We were first up for breakfast, full Engish was lovely - a perfect stay.
5 stars from us - we will be returning Sue, just as soon as we can secure Grandma for babysitting duties again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-and-Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent three days at May Cottage having stayed there previously. We were made to feel really welcome and was great to be informed about local things to do and local history.
This is a great venue for couples or singles wishing to explore the Lake District with lots of activities locally and a short drive away.
The owners are really helpful and Sue can't be more helpful in her tips of what to do and see.
I f you are energetic you can use the adjacent hotels facilities free of charge but remember to take your own towels etc
May Cottage is a lovely B&B situated in the Heart of Bowness
The rooms are very clean with excellent facilities
Breakfast is superb and nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: Free use of adjacent hotel facilitiesfor one of your days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Sue and Len made us feel so welcome after a long train journey from Penzance to Windermere. Clean, neat and tidy room - all we could wish for in amenities and Sue could not have been more attentive to our every wish, including using her computer to check our bank details and email family back home in Western Australia. Len's breakfasts were perfection, including beautifully prepared English breakfast with all the trimmings, a fresh fruit salad to commence and vegemite for us Aussies!! Welcome warm and assistance offered unstinting. Sue and Len have gone to great trouble to make their Cottage look welcoming from the street with a beautifully planned garden, lots of hanging baskets of colour, blue hydrangeas to great you from the road. Have recommended May Cottage to many friends travelling to the UK and hope we can return there sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $102 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing