We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt so awful during the visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Pump House

The Old Pump House
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Pump House is a small well established coffee shop, we specialise in good coffee, fantastic home made cakes, sandwiches etc. We also have fresh fruit frozen yoghurts, icecream, icecream milkshakes,smoothies and lots lots more. Come and see for yourself.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I felt so awful during the visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I felt so awful. Me and my brother went to that cafe and ordered a pot of tea and asked for extra cup, but women stated that I can only take one cup if I am buying one pot of tea...so we bought one.
Then I asked if I can pay by card, and women said “no! Cash only...why do you need to pay with card for pot of tea ...it’s only (£1.60)..." what is worse her colleague giggled. I said it’s just the way I used to pay for everything these days. Afterwards, we paid with our last cash. She gave me tray with tea and milk and didn’t even look at my eyes...seriously worst service I ever had. We wanted to enjoy our tea, but instead it ruined the whole tea drinking experience...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    14
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very rude staff, went in for tea and asked for another spare cup... The woman behind the counter stated that only one cup per person and this is how we drink tea in England. ( myself a British born Asian) tip for you don't use the toilet as it will offend them!!!! We just paying customers .... Avoid......

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki_uk_Suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Npton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We popped in here for lunch with my 17 month old daughter (and pushchair) and her grandparents. The cafe had no highchairs and behind us (in a separate group) was a family with an elderly lady in a wheelchair. A staff member huffily said "we don't have space for highchairs and wheelchairs" at which we all left, offended! There was one table with a family, including a young child (although presumably they had brought their own high chai). The attitude of the staff was unhelpful and awful to the lady in the wheelchair (fair enough that pushchairs aren't ideal in a small cafe). Very disappointed - we went on to have a lovely lunch in the nearby pub on the lake.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLNpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Pump House is a wonderfull little cafe. It's small and it can be hard to find a seat, but aside from that, the food is good and the staff are pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Stars !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been a regular customer for the past 2 years and I can only applaud the for the excellent service, great food and the great ambience. I feel exceptionally proud to call this my second home to the extent that the staff treats all customers, regulars and first timers as part of the family.
The coffee and food is always well prepared.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Pump House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Old Pump House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing