We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place... Not as far as you think..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooklands Guest House
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place... Not as far as you think..!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed 2 nights at this hotel... The hotel is situated about a 15 min walk from bowness... I probably wouldn't recommend if you have trouble with mobility unless you are happy to drive or order a taxi... The room we had (3) was a family room... It was clean and tidy and well presented... The bathroom was small with some manoeuvring to get into the shower... Overall the hotel and staff were lovely and it's good as a base for the weekend... Parking is minimal (4 spaces) but it is there if you need it... A nice place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a visit to Bowness on Windermere, Booklands is located just on the outskirts of the town, not far from the lake and small car ferry. We were greeted by the owner, Karen,who showed us to a lovely clean room, the bed was oh so comfy. Homemade flapjack a lovely touch with you tea and coffee in your room. Karen was friendlesy and informative and gave us good information about places to go. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very tasty. It was like staying at your aunties.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Osyth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very friendly, clean and good food that is cooked to order rather than pre cooked.. Karen and Andy know all about the local area. We had a great time and felt very welcome. The Guest house is situated in a beautiful part of the lake district.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnewhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A very comfortable place to stay. Karen and Andy were very helpful with their knowledge of the area and the many interesting places to go. The breakfasts are wonderful. The guest house is situated in an ideal position. We would recommend it and will be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Brooklands is a small, friendly home from home guest house. Karen and Andy Brafield are the owners and have a wealth of local knowledge that they are only too willing to share. Andy, an experienced and accomplished fly fisherman, is always available to talk fishing and knows the local trout waters very well indeed. If you love the Lakes and are looking for a comfortable base, then you’ll find Brooklands ideal. What I particularly value is that their English breakfast is cooked fresh. None of this “pre order your breakfast the night before” nonsense. Give Brooklands a go and have a fab vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just came back from a weekend trip to the Lake District with my family. This place is just so lovely! Rooms were just enough for the 3 of us with our dog. The location is just so perfect as it is not so far from the town centre & yet so peaceful. There is also lots of perfect sceneries if you love nature. The Lake is just around 3 minutes drive from the house & there are a lot of options for restaurants & great finds.

Breakfast was adequate, you'll have the options for a cooked breakfast as well as fruits & cereals. The owners made sure that everybody felt home & hot drinks & toasts were just aplenty!

Parking though maybe a bit difficult as the space is a bit hilly & tight but nonetheless you can always do with a bit of patience at times! Lol

All in all Brooklands is best value for money & comfort...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beng_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we had a warm welcome from Karen the owner. Karen gave us some good advice for what to do in the area

The rooms are just what you need. If like me I only sleep in the room and are out most of the day so it was perfect. Nice n clean

A beautifully cooked breakfast was served using local bacon n sausages plus lots of other choice. Just what u need to start the day

Overall no faults at all

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefootie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Fair Rigg Guest House
Fair Rigg Guest House
#11 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holly Cottages Guest House
Holly Cottages Guest House
#49 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Court House
The Old Court House
#30 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#31 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Property: Brooklands Guest House
Address: Ferry View, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooklands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing