We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere Marina Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon after reading the reviews on here, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a cottage overlooking the marina, and had fabulous views. So glad we came here.. It was relaxing and quiet, just what we needed. The cottages are lovely. Very clean and tidy, with great decor. It's not far from all the shops and boat trips. We are gonna book again for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    63
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
181
106
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose to stay at Windermere Marina Village (WMV) as we needed suitable self-catering accomodation. On arrival we were greeted warmly and found our way easily to our appartment. The accomodation was spotless and beautifully decorated with a balcony backing onto the marina which provided a fantastic view. The accomodation is fully equipped with kitchen utensils and ample storage for all items. With a beautiful 1 mile walk to the village centre there is lots to do. I would also recommend taking advantage of the access to the Old England MacDonald hotel spa and pool, the facilities are amazing and staff are very accomodating. We also took advanage of the spas discount and enjoyed some holiday treats!
WMV had an exclusive feel which only enhanced our holiday experience. If you're looking for beautiful surroundings in a beautiful part of the country then I would recommend WMV.

Room Tip: Review the floor plan to deside which type of accomodation will suit you best. We stayed in the Gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_D42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It was our first stay in the Lake District and we booked the Windermere Marina Village because of its location and it looked contemporary and modern on the website (which is the style we like). On arrival, the friendly receptionist talked us through everything, and showed us on the map where WMV was in comparison to the supermarket, restaurants etc. We stayed in Apartment 28, a 3 bedroom duplex apartment, having had a phone call a few days before to tell us there was a maintenance issue with the apartment we had booked so they were upgrading us! The apartment was amazing and looked even better then on the website –it was very spacious with a lovely view over the marina. Everything in the apartment was top spec and in very good condition.

The WMV was quiet so it was nice and relaxing, but you are only a 15 minute walk from the centre of Bowness where the restaurants and pubs are. And the walk to/from Bowness was lovely as you could either walk along a pathway through fields (where you would see lots of wild rabbits!) or walk through a National Trust reserve which took you along the edge of Lake Windermere.

We were a little concerned when we found out there was building work going on but there was nothing to worry about – we were not far from the building works (we were one building away) but we couldn’t hear anything from our apartment, even with the windows open.

We loved our stay at WMV and will definitely stay there again – I would fully recommend the apartments as they would suit either couples or families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I can only reiterate what has already been said about this excellent accommodation. We stayed in three cottages for 6, but there were only 4 of us in each which made the whole experience very comfortable: a twin room with bathtub and shower (the room is quite small and the beds close together), a larger double room with en suite bathroom with shower cabinet. Any third couple/person would have to sleep on the pull down bed in the living room and share the twin room's bathroom. The living room is spacious, with comfy sofas; they are brave to have put in a cream carpet but it was spotless. The kitchen is very well equipped, with cooker, microwave and large fridge. The balcony looked out over the marina (we were in Hawkshead rooms 22 and 24; the third room, 2, is smaller with a partial marina view.)
It was very quiet. There is a small shop on the property but with only a few limited grocery and cleaning items. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Using thre card on your key fob, you can use the fantastic facilities at the local hotel, a 15 min walk away. Clean pool (about 15m so fine for lengths), sauna, steam room and ice room, all immaculate. There's a gym too and a spa but we didn't visit them.
Walk into town by the back route: turn right out of the marina, walk along the road then right at the car park close to the ferry and walk through it. At the far end, take a path leading north, and you can either walk on in a straight line through fields to Bowness or turn right at the National Trust reserve to walk through pleasant parkland beside another small marina to a headland then join a road to Bowness.
It is very good value for money for groups sharing the cost or families. The only criticism is that the heating was a bit idiosynchratic and the duvets were too warm.

Room Tip: Hawkshead rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A group of us stayed in cottage 5 this weekend gone. The bed was more comfortable than my own bed at home. We had a lovely balcony. The kitchen was extremely well equipped. In fact the whole cottage was. There were two bathrooms which was very helpful. The staff were very friendly, we all loved our stay and I would definately recommend this venue, and I hope to stay here again. We also took a trip to the new England hotel spa, which Windermere Marina patrons can use-it was a fantastic spa and I also recommend a trip there. My pool and fitness centre ratings of these are also below.
The cottage was approx. 15 mins walk from the town centre.
Although officially we did not have a marina view, we did actually have a partial view of the marina which is lovely.
Overall, highly ecommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stay at WMV twice a year and have done for a least the past 4-5 years (in March and Sept/Oct) and now we can't stay anywhere else! We stay in the apartments in the main but have stayed in the cottages in the past.

We would say that this is one of the best places to stay in the Lakes -we love it but I appreciate that this is not the place for everyone but if you want peace and quiet- amazing accommodation and proximity to the lovely places in the Lake District - this is the place to be.

We were devastated not to stay there the year after the floods - and have even stayed when they were demolishing the pool and bar (no disruption thanks to great staff and communications)- We stayed this year in March again taking even more family with us! - we'll be booking again for September and are looking forward to our break already - we're also excited to hear that they will be or have started building the new facilities on site.I recommend WMV to everyone but with some reluctance as I still want to be able to get a booking!!

Room Tip: If you can be flexible in your dates make sure you search through the calendar as prices do vary qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just got back from a four-night stay at WMV. I wanted to take a short break by myself and decided to go on impulse with only 3 days notice! I picked WMV simply because I spotted it whilst browsing the area on Google Maps. What a good decision! I stayed at one of the cottages which overlooks the small lagoon, rather than looking out over the main marina. I was very pleased with this location as I was able to sit at my big french window or on my balcony (which is on the top floor) in the evenings and watch the herons feeding, the ducks and swans gliding around and all the wild birds coming and going in the trees right outside. The self-catering accommodation is of a very high standard, very clean indeed and all the furniture and equipment is top of the range. The lovely family-sized fitted kitchen boasted absolutely everything that you would have back home, all ready to prepare and cook anything you want, as well as a lovely, efficient dishwasher to take care of the dishes! A real 'home from home' feel, very warm and cosy with plenty of heaters, comfortable beds, warm duvets, lots of electric sockets for all your gadgets and gizmos and a TV. The bathroom is 'hotel-standard' with lots of soft, fluffy towels, a heated towel-rail, an additional fan-heater on the wall for extra warmth and a lovely Mira electric shower over the bath. The cottage was very well located, just a short walk from the busy Bowness Pier area on Lake Windermere, via a charming lakeside footpath. There is a small shop in the village for papers and essential food items, wine, crisps and sweets, as well as a small range of family holiday goods, maps and souvenirs. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and gave lots of tips about the area to make sure I found everything easily. I didn't take my dogs this time, but these cottages are dog-friendly and even have a dog bowl and placemat provided! Next time I might even take my husband and the dogs! I had a wonderfully restful break and it was lovely having a real 'home' to come back to every evening. As a lone traveller I really appreciated knowing that they employ a security guard to keep an eye on things at night too. They truly have thought of everything! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All cottages and apartments are lovely, but only a few are dog-friendly or face the lagoon. Most loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Marina Village

Property: Windermere Marina Village
Address: The Marina, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering lakeland cottages and luxury apartments nestled around a private marina in the heart of the Lake District.Windermere Marina Village enjoys a secluded location yet is only a few minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Marina Village Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Windermere Marina Village Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing