We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rastelli's Pizzeria, Bowness”

Rastelli Ristorante-Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rastelli's Pizzeria, Bowness”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent food, very pleasant service, handy location, nice clean and authentic interior, good atmosphere.

The pizzas are made as you watch, with the oven in the main restaurant area. Very tasty pizza and the chips are divine. I also had a mixed salad which was ok but a little soggy. the rocket and parmesan salad is ok too.

Food quality and service standards are high but places for improvement are these:

When someone is ready to pay, let them pay; when it came to paying time all service personnel seemed to be busy elsewhere for a good 15 minutes. Service time could be improved in general.

Salads could be improved, though it was ok, a salad wet through is no-ones first choice.

Those points aside, I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and will return when I'm back in Bowness. I love a decent pizzeria. And seriously, the chips are unreal.

Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    183
    83
    31
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stone baked pizza”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

You can never go wrong with an Italian meal and this restaurant didn't disappoint.
They do special 'early diner' offers if you eat there before 6:30.
We were welcomed into the restaurant and shown to a seat - we hadn't booked but this didn't seem to be a problem. We had looked at the menu on the board outside so knew what we wanted so ordered it along with our drinks.
You can see the pizzas being made in the main restaurant area and placed in the big oven for that authentic stone baked finish. The result was a truly moorish pizza.
We didn't have space for starters or a dessert - but they all sounded lovely.
The waiting staff seemed a little rushed off their feet despite not being overly busy but this didn't detract from the service.
The atmosphere is really quite nice in the restaurant and we enjoyed our dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bizarre restaurant”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a quick pizza and were shown to our table for two. It seems that all the small tables are arranged around the edge of the room and mostly at an oblique angle. This creates the extremely odd situation of all the couples sitting around the edge if the room looking at the bigger tables in the middle. It might just have been this evening but it felt quite strange particularly as all the tables in the middle were empty.

Next the music. Awful awful awful stereotypical Italian operetta type music made me want to scream. So so bad. And so ill-advised - has anyone ever paid a complement relating to this?

Next the decor? Again some kind of Italian pastiche - terra-cotta floor tiles, red and green walls and plastic vines everywhere. In combination with the above it really makes the place feel cheaper than it needs to be.

If you've managed to successfully ignore the above and order some food - you'll be fine. But just fine. Pizza bases cooked from chilled (I saw them come out of their cling film) not a great start. Once cooked I found the pizza a little anaemic with no nicely bubbled mozzarella on the top. The flavour was adequate but nothing special. And the pizza size was also average.

Redeeming features? The staff were pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pizza on the Hill”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Called into Rastellis for a pizza before going home. We were glad we did. Garlic bread was tasty and my Pepperoni Pizza was excellent. June had Calzone & really enjoyed it. The staff were very attentive drinks appeared very quickly the boss was very hands on all in all I would definatly eat. here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beware the garlic bread (it's delicious)”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Made the mistake of ordering garlic bread to eat before the starter (I was hungry). It was the size of a pizza! The food was delicious, I had Spaghetti Bolognese for my main course, my wife had cannelloni with a side salad plus a bottle of wine shared. Very nice meal but again, beware the size of the garlic bread!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mypointofviewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rastelli Ristorante-Pizzeria also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Rastelli Ristorante-Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing