We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last minute visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“last minute visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a day in Bowness decided to stay and eat somewhere. Came across this and was helped with parking advice by proprietor. was spoiled for choice on seeing menu- settled for garlic mushrooms to start followed by lamb and black pudding casserole. beautifully and promptly served. Friend had chicken bolognaise as main course, equally delicious. Only problem was we had no room for dessert but will definitely be going back to try some. Cannot fault anything at all and would really recommend a visit for an excellent value for money meal. Handy hint- the ladies loo is the one with the fluffy rabbit in a blue dress!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venicelover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    279
    87
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very friendly Manager, very attentive and advised us on the menu. We had the 3-course special at £17.95. Started with prawn cocktail, then had the trout which was cooked to perfection, then finished of with cappacino cheescake with fresh cream and ice cream. All in all a delicious meal. Would definately recommend this restaurant if you want a good meal and good service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited Jacksons for my husbands birthday whilst on holiday in the Lakes. Literally could not fault it!! Read trip advisor beforehand and now can't believe the negative press that it's got from some reviews. Please ignore these and go for great food and the friendliest service...you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emfish46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place to have a meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We found that this bistro was recommended on the guestbook in our hotel. So, after searching around for our dinner, we would like to give it a try. Generally speaking, the food was good. We had a steal and a black pudding casserole (the black pudding casserole might not be very acceptable for everyone as its flavor was a bit strong). Also, for sweets and drink, we had a bottle of Hawkshead beer(just want to try the "local" beer, and the taste was quite smooth) and a cake with berries and cream(delicious~ but we didn't finish it since we were a bit full).
Overall, this bistro was a good place for having a dinner. In addition, because it was close to the Windermere Lake people could have a relaxed walk around the Lake after dinner to enjoy the beautiful dusk view during summer time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTKKuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

First and last visit, waited over 1 hour for starter and was very disappointed with the chicken wings and how it looked, went downhill after this main was very un pleasing to the eye shoved on a plate more like a appetiser not a main and wasn't nice would never go again, felt sorry for the waiting staff as they were lovely and very apologetic for the food and wait

Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing