We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant”
Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ate here on our final night for our 'mini-moon'....it was the best meal we had, and my husband summed it up well...'wish we found this place on our first night!'
The food was fantastic, (highly recommend the chicken bolognaise dish they do) the staff very welcoming and friendly. I managed to sneakily speak to a member of staff, possibly the manager, not sure, and mentioned it was our honeymoon and was there anything special he could do as a surprise for my hubby, and he said leave it to him. He bought out a wonderful complimentary selection of the tastiest desserts ever! It was a wonderful way to finish the evening.
Can't recommend this place highly enough.
Thank you for a fantastic meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    298
    94
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

this place was recommended by the guest house and they were spot on the. The food and service was excellent. It is well positioned in the village being close to all the pubs and our guesthouse. We will return when we come back in September.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This place was fantastic. The food was gorgeous and soo delicious. It was excellent value for money too. The staff were very friendly and I would definitely go there again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eg1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have eaten at Jackson's Bistro on at least three occasions and have not once been disappointed. The menu can be of unusual cuisine but thoroughly worth while tasting, they seem to have more fish dishes on their menu than meat or vegetable options but on saying that the choices they have should not disappoint, they have a set menu on offer as well as the main menu and plenty of options in drinks. When we ate there we opted for the set menu and tried for our starters the seafood medley the mains we had Chicken bolonaise with a difference definitely worth a taste and desert my partner tried the sticky toffee pudding with fresh cream and I the tiramisu truly delicious from start to finish and worth every penny spent, please note that the last time we ate at Jackson's was back in August 2013 so it is more than likely possible that the menu has been changed in part, but all in all is still worth a visit. Recommended to all we will certainly will eat there again on our next visit to the Lakes (Bowness on Windermere). From Friday to Sunday recommend booking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lambchop1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing special and small portions”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went on Friday evening 8.30pm. 6 people dined. Food was over an hour before it arrived. One waiter was over chirpy and told us about 'our ratings for steaks on Tripadvisor' 3 or 4 times which was becoming irrating. Starters were average and slightly small. Main course the fillet steaks and rump steaks were some of the smallest I've seen. They got nearly all the meat cooking wrong. Mostly 'Well Done' when asked for 'Rare'. When we complained they re-cooked. After a poor meal we complained and they only knocked of a couple of sauces.

Up your game. We won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shortonfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing