We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book early!”
Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book early!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Phoned the place on the Tuesday to book for the Saturday night and they could only fit us in around 7pm. The place was small but lovely, very clean with a nice atmosphere and very busy. The food was, quite simply, tremendous, my Steak cooked to perfection. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you haven't been I would go for a table downstairs, very cosy! We will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank ParkerWarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    298
    94
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quite Busy!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went on a very busy Saturday night, and were delighted to get a last minute reservation. When we arrived we were placed on a very small table- so small that we had to manoeuvre our drinks and food throughout the visit. Also, as the tables were so closely together, it felt very squashed. (I would say this may have been the location of our table, there was extra seating downstairs) We had two mains, a bottle of wine, a pint of beer and bread to share starter for around £55 which although it was a reasonable price we had paid less for more in other restaurants in the area. A downfall was that they rushed to take our food order, when we hadn't even placed a drinks order, and that meant long after the meal we were still finishing our drinks- although they didn't try to rush us out. I had the salmon and chicken duo and it was beautiful! I would go there again for the same meal, just hoped to be seated in a different area, and for the staff to be more relaxed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly atmospere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our visit was in the middle of a monsoon and we decided to go inside for a bite to eat.

The menu is full of different dishes that make choosing your meal difficult if you are indecisive like me. We went for the seafood platter to share for starter and Rump steak & Lamb henry for mains.

No complaints with any course, cooked ti perfection and fantastically tasty....when we return to Bowness we will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuartC1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food very good price”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a meal here whilst on holiday in the lake district and we were very pleased we ordered off the two courses for £16.95 and the food was delicious the steak very good quality and rest of the food was lovely just as good as a restaurant where you would pay a lot. Very food value for money glad we came upon it.

Helpful?
Thank clo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Will go again”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Came across this place by chance and decided to give it a try...what a good decision. The place was busy ( always a good sign ) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good value and was well presented. Take time to search the place out, I don't think you will be disappointed

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing