We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new mum left in tears...”
Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Co down
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A new mum left in tears...”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked a table here this evening.. When we arrived the waitress reluctantly took us too our seats. Once seated it was clear we were not welcome as we had a 10 week old sleeping baby in our company. Our friend, mother of the child was so upset that we felt we had to leave the restaurant. It is clear that Jacksons is not child friendly at all, and we are now having a delicious meal at The Angel innn where we have all been greeted and welcomed with open arms. I myself am restauranter and would be horrified if any of my staff responded in this manner. Really in this current economic climate no restaurant staff should have this attitude towards customers with children.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BeetieCodown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    298
    94
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely restaurant, great food and nice staff :D”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant is lovely....and the quality of food is just a nice. The portions are a good size, yet presented professionally

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love Jacksons”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love this place, we have been many times, with friends and family and just the two of us, great service wonderful food, it get busy so booking is good, its a nice experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly small eatery”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This establishment is friendly and reasonably priced. We went for the early special and had an excellent three course meal. The food was well cooked and there is a wide choice on the menu. My lamb and black pudding casserole as a main was just what was needed for a cold rainy day. Well worth considering if in the Bowness area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bshawManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife ate here, we both choose meals of there 3 course special menu. The food was lovely all 3 courses and the service was good to. Great value for money. Would defo go back here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deniro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing