We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale View Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Langdale View is an excellent B&B/Guest House, and nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Ann-Marie. Their welcome certainly makes one immediately feel at home.

The house oozes quality throughout, from the quality of the bed linen to the superb breakfasts.

The bathrooms are well equipped and functional, and the showers have good pressure, something sadly lacking in many B&B's. The complimentary toiletries ate also of the highest quality.

Their breakfast menu is very comprehensive with dishes to suit all tastes, all cooked fresh to order, and served in their delightful bright and cheerful breakfast room.

As others have mentioned, access can be a little tight if you have a large vehicle but for most average size cars with a decent driver at the wheel it is not a problem.

A word of advice..... when you book Paul will send you explicit instructions on how to find Langdale View. Keep these instructions and follow them to the letter.

I, in my usual kak-handed way, lost the instructions and relied on my sat-nav to get me there.... a big mistake !. The device took me way off course, and to a road from which could not get to the Langdale View. I resorted to phoning Paul, who gave me directions and I was there within minutes.

I and my colleagues had a very pleasant stay, with the best night's sleep I've had for ages, in one of the world's most comfortable beds !.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeardedwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello the bearded wonder and collegues,
Thank you so much for the very kind comments and handy tips for future visitors to langdale View. We do our best to make sure that everything runs as smoothly as possible for all of our guests from booking right through to departure and are more than happy to assist wherever we can. We can vouch for the comfort of our beds and the quality of the products that we use here at Langdale View as we try them all out ourselves and get all our friends and family to give us honest opinions (and they are!) on everything we use. It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back to visit with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann-Marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Langdale View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 568 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Langdale Guest House for a long weekend at the start of November and had a fantastic stay. The hostess was very welcoming and helpful. We hadn't realised that there was a Spa nearby and Ann Marie really kindly lent us some swimming gear. She also assisted us in finding some good walks in the area. Our room (Wansfeld) was not very spacious (as previously mentioned), however it was very comfortable, with excellent facilities and enough storage. As a woman, I enjoyed the mirrors ideally placed in the room, which made it really nice and easy to get ready in the morning. There was an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe as well as a good hair dryer in one of the draws, which for me is very important. The TV was very modern and included a DVD player. There was an extensive choice of DVDs available downstairs in the hallway. We were impressed by little touches, such as fresh milk always available in a fridge just outside the room and chocolate on the pillows on arrival. The en suite bathroom was a good size, the toiletery products of very good quality and we appreciated the warm towel rack and the large towels. The room and bathroom was spotless!!! As for breakfast, the menu was very comprehensive, Ann Marie was very attentive to our needs and breakfast was simply delicious.
The property was a bit difficult to access but, this is the price to pay in such a good location. We had received an email beforehand warning us about this minor inconvenience. Finally the location is gorgeous, there is plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops on the door step of the property. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noemie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Noemie,
It was a pleasure to have your company for the few days that you stayed with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities that we have to offer all our guests when they stay with us and we will always try and help out when we can to make sure that everyone enjoys themselves as much as possible. Thank you so much for your kind comments and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Ann-marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in October.
The most impressive aspect of Langdale View is the quality of the products. Toiletries, breakfast ingredients, and tea tray ingredients were all of the highest quality.
The only aspect that did not suit us was the size of our room (Wansfell). There is no sitting area at Langdale View (which is not a problem in the least for us) but it did mean that the only place to sit and relax was on the bed, as there was not enough space to sit anywhere else in the room. Please bear in mind that this is just our personal view, and that we are both fairly tall people!
The bathroom was a good size, and the whole place was beautifully heated.
The B+B is very central, and 2 minutes on foot to the deliciously inviting Angel pub.
There are many decent restaurants in Bowness.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonbridgeJollyyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Tonbridge Jollyyolly, Thank you for your kind comments about the high quality of all the products that we supply to our guests. Langdale View is a 4 star silver guest house with a range of rooms to suit all budgets and requirements from super kingsize rooms with view to standard doubles such as Wansfell. We advise all guests with specific requirements to discuss these with us before they make a booking to ensure that everyone gets the room that they want on the budget that they need. We are indeed lucky enough to be only a couple of minutes walk to all the pubs, bars and restaurants in Bowness accessed through the gate in our garden, yet tucked quietly out of the way of the hustle and bustle.
Kind regards

Ann-marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Thank you for an excellent stay! We were given a fantastic welcome, the service was friendly and everything we wanted was catered for with a smile! Already booked to go back again! See you next year Mr and Mrs Grand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, General Manager at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Claire, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at langdale View. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you have booked to visit with us again next year. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowness in the spring. Kind regards

Ann-marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent service, food, presentation5* from the moment we parked the till the moment we left was first class the best b&b i have stayed in. We would recommened Langdale View to all our family and freinds. Mr & Mrs Mansell

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oksana31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Mansell, We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your brief chance to get away from it all with us. Thank you for your kind comments it makes the hard work so worth while when guests enjoy our facilities. We look forward to your next visit with us in the future.
Kind regards
Ann-marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here twice (each time for one week) during two summer holidays in the Lake District. This is a really nice house with some wonderful apartments. The location is great, only a 10 min walk down to Windermere, shops, pubs and restaurants are all nearby. If you don't get there by car, there's a bus stop literally on your door step, just outside the cinema across the road. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggybread_OReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Eggybread
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to visit with us again in the future.
kind regards
Ann-Marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned home from a weekend in Bowness staying at this little gem of a bed & breakfast. Anne-Marie is a fantastic hostess who made us welcome from getting out of our car.
We stayed in the "kentmere" room which was better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The room was exceptionally clean with good quality bed linen and the fluffiest towels I have ever had in any hotel. The attention to detail in our room was fab from the selection of coffees in our room to the little touches like a cork screw and wine glasses in your room, with a fridge on the landing to put bottles in if needed.
Breakfast was also great with lots of choices. We had full English breakfast on the first morning and I opted for the frittata the second morning. This was gorgeous. I forgot how nice homemade jams are till we went here.
We would not hesitate in recommending the Langdale View to any of our friends and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandAnnMarie, Owner at Langdale View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Marie, Thank you your kind comments about us here at Langdale View. We do our best to make sure that everyone who comes to visit has an enjoyable relaxing stay with us. I think you can tell that we enjoy only the best food locally sourced ourselves and take pleasure in supplying an extensive breakfast menu for our guests to savour. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to visit us for another stay in the future.
Kind regards
Ann-marie and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale View Guest House

Address: 114 Craig Walk, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $112 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Langdale View a 4 star silver guest house with its own private car park and garden. We are only a few minutes from the centre of Bowness and 500m from the shores of Lake Windermere. There are 5 en-suite rooms, 2 double 1 king size, 1 super king/twin all individually furnished and decorated to a high standard. Our services include free wifi and free use of the gym, spa and pool at the McDonald Hotel 'The Old England' 5 mins walking in Bowness centre. We are ideally situated for exploring the Lake District by car, on foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Langdale View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale View Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Langdale View Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing