We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve and Denise I”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Court House
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steve and Denise I”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at The old Court House for 3 nights in March,a real nice and friendly B+B the weather was freezing but the guest house was always lovely and warm.Alison was the host and a very good one at that and the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice from fresh fruit to cereal to full cooked breakfast etc,and nothing was too much trouble for Alison.
The room had coffee and tea making facilities,colour TV,alarm clock,hair dryer and an ironing board was available on request what more do you need?
When we return to the lakes i would definitely go back in the old court house as the location was excellent just 2 mins from the lake and all the cafes ,restaurants and pubs outside the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from a 6 month tour of Europe and have to say this was the worst accomodation we had. The noise from the local pub was unbearable till almost 3am.Then at 7.30am each morning the builders yard across the road and its constant deliveries and work vans,added to the misery.
If that wasn`t bad enough the b&d dog constantly barked during our stay.
If it wasn`t for the very charming night manager, who not only made us feel special but couldn`t do enough for us.We would have ased for our money back!
However the highlight of our stay was breakfast which i begrudgingly say was delicious, but again spoiled by a barking dog which shouldn`t have been in a food preparation area.
Parking was adequate!

Room Tip: Go to another b&b if you want some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from staying at The Old Court House for one night over the weekend. We got a bit lost finding the guesthouse but once we knew where we were going it was easy to find, right at the side of the cinema on the Main Street through Bowness. The guesthouse is ideally located right in the centre of the town with bars, restaurants, pubs, cafes and shops all right outside. The lake is only a 2 minute walk away down the hill. We received a warm welcome upon arrival, despite not turning up until gone 7pm. We were taken straight to our room which was clean, amply sized and nicely decorated. The shower room was only small with just a shower cubicle and toilet, the wash basin was within the vanity unit in the room, but for just a one or two night stay it was fine. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities were available in the room, along with biscuits and chocolates. The beds were very comfy, the duvet could have been a bit bigger, but maybe that was just us being greedy! Breakfast the following morning was excellent, just what we needed. A full English breakfast with toast was cooked perfectly. Cereals, fruit juice and fresh fruit were also available along with preserves for your toast. We would also like to say thank you for allowing us use of the car park for the day, this was really useful to allow us to go exploring. Next time we return to the lakes we will defiantly look to stay here again, it made for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Been here on a number of occasions and always enjoyed it. We were given a choice of rooms all of which were clean tidy and quite modern. Choice of cooked breakfast or cereal toast and fresh fruit salad. Yoghurts also available, as is fresh orange juice.
Good value for money, and an attentive but not intrusive host in Alison.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigourney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in a ground floor room and had a great weekend. The room was clean and functional and the bathroom modern.

The room was a little noisy at times during the day due to thin walls/ceilings and the pavement right past the window. After dark it settled down and we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was compact and in need of some attention, with an incredibly noisy extractor fan, loose taps on the sink and a shower cubicle so small I couldn't get my hands to my head to wash my hair without opening the door. These are frankly niggles though and wouldn't prevent me from staying again.

Breakfast was superb, the staff very friendly, and the location brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a very enjoyable weekend here, room was very nice and clean, the breakfast was very good especially the fresh fruit salad, would certainly stay here again as the location is just right for all the attractions in bowness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After having difficulty finding the old court house. (sat nav) directions incorrect. We were very well received and shown to our ground floor room which though very small was spotlessly clean with a good bed. Breakfast was exactly what we asked for and the owner and staff were helpful and able to give good info on the area. The car ark was very cramped but ok. The B&B is situated at the top of the hill from the Promenade. It is very pleasant walk down but a long way home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#21 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Property: The Old Court House
Address: The Old Court House Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing