We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful owners and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Court House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful owners and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in a ground floor room and had a great weekend. The room was clean and functional and the bathroom modern.

The room was a little noisy at times during the day due to thin walls/ceilings and the pavement right past the window. After dark it settled down and we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was compact and in need of some attention, with an incredibly noisy extractor fan, loose taps on the sink and a shower cubicle so small I couldn't get my hands to my head to wash my hair without opening the door. These are frankly niggles though and wouldn't prevent me from staying again.

Breakfast was superb, the staff very friendly, and the location brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a very enjoyable weekend here, room was very nice and clean, the breakfast was very good especially the fresh fruit salad, would certainly stay here again as the location is just right for all the attractions in bowness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

After having difficulty finding the old court house. (sat nav) directions incorrect. We were very well received and shown to our ground floor room which though very small was spotlessly clean with a good bed. Breakfast was exactly what we asked for and the owner and staff were helpful and able to give good info on the area. The car ark was very cramped but ok. The B&B is situated at the top of the hill from the Promenade. It is very pleasant walk down but a long way home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunstable
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

just got back.stayed three nights.lovely room with a nice bathroom/shower.
the breakfast was lovely with good home cooked food.
very good location in the village.
Alison and her family were so friendly.
hope to go again.

all round good value for money.

Room Tip: room six is a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 173sarah173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent a weekend here for a birthday break, it has a great
location near shops, restaurants and most importantly the lake. We would recommend the old courthouse and have no negative comments ;)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay in the Old Courthouse. The location is ideal for visting the lake district as it is near two towns and lots of restaurants and shops.

The service was good, especially during breakfast.

Would certainly recommend to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noel0leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A nice quiet B&B situated in a lovely little village. The room was spacious, clean and warm and the bed was comfy. The bathroom compact but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was delicious. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenis and Juli... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Property: The Old Court House
Address: The Old Court House Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing