We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,Great service & Great value”

Fat Olives Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A friendly English and Mediterranean brasserie style restaurant, open from 4pm serving freshly prepared, home cooked food. A varied menu offering light snacks, sharing plates, grills and regularly changing specials. Excellent children's menu available. Also offering a Cinema and Meal deal in cooperation with the Royalty Cinema which is just across the road.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food,Great service & Great value”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We visited this restaurant on our recent visit to Windermere after a recommendation on this site. The restaurant itself is very modern and spotless. Don't be put of from the outside if you think it looks a lille too 'cafe like' as the food and service is equal to that of which a top class city restaurant would be proud of.
There is a selection of daily special on offer and a menu with something to suit everyone but not too big. The food was cooked freshly to order and wonderfully presented.
We could not fault anything and ate hear twice during our recent stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m0zfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    334
    73
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great meal, would recommend you give them a try”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Visited on a Sunday evening, we had booked but didn't need to as a bit off season. Service was very good, and food (Olives, Whitebait, Lamb Shank) was excellent and well presented. We visit Bowness frequently, and having tried a number of places for dinner, would suggest that Fat Olives is best value around at the moment. Nice atmosphere, too - would suggest you give them a try when in Bowness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
“Yum. Really tasty food and good service”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

About £25 per head (exc. tip) having one alcoholic drink each, sharing starter, mains and icecream each. Really tasty food, a little bit different and nice cosy interior. Book during the day as it was really busy. Service was really swift and polite. Really nice meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammykins49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant for locals”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My sons took me here the weekend before mothers day as a treat. Unfortunately this was not the case. We were sat next to the kitchen hatch and the food was terrible. We had cold starters which were fine but they dont take much putting together. Everyones main course was very disappointing - mine was warmed up mussels and frozen chips and was totally tasteless. We didnt bother with a dessert.
We live in the area and will not recommend this place to others or return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darrencumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, owner at Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at Fat Olives

I think you have missed the point with the kitchen being open, lots of people like to watch the chefs at work, and see all the food coming out, we are a busy little brasserie style restauarnt not the Sharrowbay

Your comment "Not for Locals" suggests that we should give an inferior service to tourists, should have thrown out some holidaymakers to give you a different table ?

It is also insulting to the many locals who have been coming back time and time again , many using our 10% locals discount card
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“frozen chips and overcooked meat”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

decided i would try here due to the reviews, the decor is great as is the service. however the food was over priced. i had steak which came over cooked and was very fatty. we were in a party of 6 and only one person enjoyed their meal which was the lamb stew. i would suggest trying somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedoginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, owner at Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Yes we do serve frozen chips ! like many other
Restaurants.
We are a small Brasserie style restaurant serving a full menu all day and think that our chips go vey well with our freshly Cooked Pastas, Sandwiches, Grills, Mains and daily blackboard specials.
From more than 20,000 customers through the doors in our first year, you are the first one to say anything negative about the chips.
Also at the time nobody said anything about the food apart from the chips, in fact the person in your party who came and paid, left a
tip, cant of been that bad for everyone else.
If your Locally Sourced Steak wasn't how you like it, you should have said and we would have redone it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olives Brasserie also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Fat Olives Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing