We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving!”

0Fat Olives Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Casual cafe restaurant open from 12 noon for lunches life bites and our full al a carte menu a lake district cafe restaurant
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We walked past this restaurant several times and it was only from reviews that we stepped through the door. We were pleasantly surprised, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food was of a high standard. Service was attentive. Lovely food, would recommend. Compliments to the chef.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at 0Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    336
    73
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely evening with friends”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a lovely evening here with friends.
Great food and service as usual.
A busy night but all the food arrived promptly.
2nd time here.

Will be back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at 0Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Vibe”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We chose this by chance as we had met some long-lost friends that morning and were searching for a place to eat and catch up again. Fresh, pleasant and airy inside, we were surprised it wasn't busier, but we were a little off the main lunch time. We all had the moules frites with delicious, soft white bread and butter washed down with a light and fresh white wine and spent a very plant afternoon catching up on life. The staff were attentive when needed, friendly and welcoming.

A lucky find, to which we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at 0Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your meal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a great meal to celebrate a birthday ,didnt make a booking and even though they were very busy room was made for us .Food was piping hot and very tasty and very reasonably priced will return on our next visit to Bowness

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at 0Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your meal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“NOT A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have been to this place a few times as italien,greek etc and this was anticipated with a good trip advisor review.What a disapointment,food all seemed to be pinged and was very poor beef borginuone awful mash and not good at all.A big clue for the management a seefood rissotto has to have prawns squid etc in it not just mussels from starter of mussels and even these had beards not trimmen and broken shells and bits in sauce.We all had different things all were poor and wouldnt go again and grossly overpriced

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at 0Fat Olives Brasserie, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
I am not sure if this is malicious or you are just ignorant about food. As you can see from our previous reviews most of our customers appreciate that our food is fresh and prepared to order. Obviously a beef borgignon (local beef gently simmered for four hours in red wine with onions, mushrooms and bacon) must be re-heated as it would not be possible to cook to order. We do not "ping" this but heat it on the stove. Our seafood risotto contains, mussels, prawns, clams, and squid. It is one of our most popular dishes and is cooked to order. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal and had you drawn it to our attention at the time, we would perhaps have been able to do something to rectify this. You say you have been before and presumably enjoyed your meal on these occasions, but I cannot find anywhere your complimentary reviews for these meals. By the way I cannot resist saying - your spelling 1 star
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 0Fat Olives Brasserie also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to 0Fat Olives Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing