We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance, well-cooked food”
Review of Balance Of Bowness

Balance Of Bowness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual cafe restaurant open from 12 noon for lunches life bites and our full al a carte menu a lake district cafe restaurant
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant is modern and bright with a good choice of dishes on the menu with something to suit all tastes according to whether you want something British or a little more Continental. The meal and cinema deal represents good value at £40 for 2 people for 2 courses and a reserved cinema ticket at the retro cinema across the road (it has a Wurlitzer organ!). One little comment, I think the toilet facilities could do with updating as perhaps they were a little shabby compared to the bright modern restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank candj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 726 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked a table for sat 19oct a nice rainy night.sat at a nice table just by the window in the main upstairs room actually just of the street. We ate at fat olives before, so we were ready to see if it was going to be as good as before. Mrs b decided we should have the tappas plate to share. Chorriso,serrano ham salami black/green olives fetta cheese,bruchetta,humas,crushed olives,pickled onion....etc, plenty for two people. Really nice. Mrs b decided on the mussels in a chorriso sauce with two huge wedges of home made bread plus nice chunky chips. I decided to choose calves liver with bacon,creamy mash and onion gravy........plus veg....massive meal for me. To finish off sticky toffee pud..but not for me.all in all I can say the meal was fantastic .the staff were all attentative as before..all this for around £45. I can say the food ,the price,the atmosphere,the cheffs , everything was as nice as I rememberd from the last time..well done fat olives......i will be back...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are lots of places to eat in Bowness however we chose the Fat Olive. extensive menu and some early bird offers. The stafff were very attentive and the place was very popular always a good sign. would highly recommend this as a place to eat if visiting the lakes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had Mussels and a Sea Food platter. The dishes wer sumptuous and delicious.
Did'nt have time the next day, but want to eat their again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic starter but let down by a really poor main. £16.50 for a really skimpy bit of lamb that was 90% fat. Hard and lumpy mash.. Your chefs maybe stretched with it being Saturday night but that is no way to send out food in what is expected to be a fine dinning restraunt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brad0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are a little puzzled by this one as the dish you had was Lamb three ways. This is a char-grilled lamb cutlet, a piece of slow roasted lamb shoulder and a spicy lamb meatball. None of these are huge but obviously you have to look at the portion combined. Also can I say Fat Olives is not, has never been and has no aspirations to become a "fine dining" restaurant. The prices would be considerably higher and the portions considerably smaller if we were!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balance Of Bowness also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Balance Of Bowness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing