We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and lovely atmosphere”
Review of Balance Of Bowness

Balance Of Bowness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Balance restaurant in Bowness brings together the best of traditional dining with fresh ideas and a smart interior. The tables are beautifully set with linen and candles, the music is soft and ambient, and the atmosphere is calm and relaxed. All of this sets the stage for the food, which celebrates the best Lake District ingredients alongside hand-picked flavours from around the globe.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A welcoming, friendly place with excellent service and great food. The varied menu has something for everyone and offers a wide range of prices. The portions are generous so be warned! The sharing plates are fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank penny025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 881 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited fat olives on a wet cold Sunday afternoon after a weekend of snow blizzards to receive a warm welcome, fantastic food, cooked fresh, relaxed informal atmosphere with chilled music and the icing on the cake, for a Yorkshire lass, it was good value too. Certainly worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kjn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partner and I dropped in here last weekend for dinner, after reading all these great reviews on Tripadvisor. Big mistake! Yes, quite clearly a lot of people love this place if you read all the reviews, but we were greeted and seated, and then ignored completely for the next twenty minutes until we got up and left. We tried and tried to get the waitress's attention, but didn't even get offered drinks. Terrible service.

    • Service
Thank markpogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Balance Of Bowness, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Unfortunately, we were a victim of our own success last weekend. We had taken a large party booking as we expected to be quiet but also had an overwhelming response to our new Movie and Meal Deal offer in conjuction with the Royalty Cinema which is over the road from the restaurant.
These customers arrived without a booking and took the last available table, he was seated and given menus and wine list to look at. Unfortunately at this time my colleague was taking the order from the large party and at the same time the food for several tables arrived at the pass. I am sure you would agree that getting hot food to the table takes priority. I got back to this customer to take an order within 15 minutes, but unfortunately they had departed. I filled the table immediately with another hungry customer. It is sad that they did not stay to experience our lovely freshly cooked food as I am sure their patience would have been rewarded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

my husband and I had a lovely tasty meal. The service and value were excellent. We will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on a cold snowy January day. Lovely home made pasta dishes with fresh salad and lovely red wine. Not the greatest selection of bread - quite stale but had been warmed up. Would return for a hearty pasta dish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank briree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balance Of Bowness also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Balance Of Bowness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing