We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Postilion Restaurant - CLOSED

Postilion Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wonderful friendly service and fantastic food. Three courses for£18 ,of a very high standard. vegetables fantastic. I will certainly go back before I leave.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    195
    65
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stuffed to bursting point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Couldn't believe how reasonably priced the food was as the food and service are second to none if you go to Bowness try this restaurant you would be silly not to (booking advisable as it was very busy)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We can't visit the Lakes without dining at Postilion! It's a wonderful quirky little restaurant with superb food and great customer service. A 3 course meal for £18, of such a high standard on a Saturday night, is becoming a rare thing these days. We have dined many times over the years and have never ever been disappointed.

Mark S - Not wishing to contradict, but I just cannot believe this restaurant would jeopardise its reputation by serving burnt food, given the attention to detail in each plate served - it just wouldn't happen! (I am not affiliated to Positlion in any way). Yes, they can be busy at times but that is testament to the popularity of the place. Our family loves this little restaurant and we felt the need to respond to this negative review which, incidentally, sits out like a sore thumb amongst the many positive comments.

There is always two sides to a story.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Summer holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Whilst on our 2week summer break in Bowness we were looking for nice places to eat on some on the nights of our stay and this was the first one we tried and were not disappointed. We called in on a busy night but without a booking, probably advised, and received a friendly welcome and a positive response for a table for two. The menu was varied with plenty of good and interesting choices and the quality of the service and food was excellent. Good value for money and very comfortable to highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Not a great visit. First of all we were told we could only sit outside (on wobbly tables) even though the restaurant was not busy. Eventually we got inside and the dining room is pleasant enough. We particularly liked upstairs and the bookcase entrance to the toilets is a nice quirky touch. Unfortunately things went downhill after that and it took an hour and a quarter for the starters to arrive. Two of them were burnt and inedible. We asked to see the chef/owner but he wouldn't come and see us. The only saving grace was that they allowed us to leave without paying. I'm afraid I wouldn't return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postilion Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing