We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reassuringly busy :)”
Review of Postilion Restaurant - CLOSED

Postilion Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reassuringly busy :)”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Had a table here on 15th July 2011. friendly welcoming staff seated us at a table upstairs which whilst not exactly 'roomy' was perfectly adequate.
We were initially entertained by a couple next to us who had received a 'medium well' steak order cooked 'medium rare' it was worth noting that the staff couldnt do enough to help them out and despite the grumpy response from the diners the staff dealth with it in an efficient and suitably apologetic manner.
Anyway , on to the meal. The Greek parcels were particularly nice as were the funny little beef and pork patties that I had , I have to say the sauce served with the patties was really good.

On to the mains and the chicken was tasty and juicy , while the accompanying mash was very smooth and perfectly seasoned. My loin of pork was again very nice and the accompanying sauce was creamy and tasty.
the desert i tried was the sticky toffee pudding and while tasty enough was pretty standard (and clearly microwaved )
Service throughout the evening was very good , the waiting staff were attentive and helpful and the decor led to an enjoyable and relaxing meal.
Special mention must go to the fantastic toilets with possibly the best loo doors I have ever seen!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davework415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    195
    65
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and Great Service”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were in a party of 11 and had a room more or less to ourselves, the staff were friendly and efficient and we all had a three course meal and none of us could fault it, it was excellent, will definitely visit again next time we are in the area, highly recommended

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minigirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

we stayed in bowness for one night & pre booked our table for 7.30pm. the staff, food & wine were all excellent. we would definately recommend postilion to anyone. it was one of the best meals we've had in a long time. will certainly be going back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fizzie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine, friendly and efficient staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We accidently came across this lovely restaurant whilst on holiday and we were so glad we did. The food and service was absolutely amazing. I can honestly say that I haven't tasted food as good for a very long time. We all ordered different meals on the menu and every one was beautifully presented and expertly cooked. You will be missing a gem if you don't try this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank alisonhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

super B&B (Nagoya) at end of walking the dales way recommended postilion - returned the following night as we couldn't fault the fishcake and Thai curry

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postilion Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing