We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, stylish decor, very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Though we booked quite last minute and for only 1 night, I thought I would add a review as some people have been a little harsh in theirs.

Yes its on the main road so noise could be an issue, and there is no double glazing- its an old building with character. We took earplugs and slept well.

Parking: we managed to unload in the 1 hr bay across the road and then moved our car to the free on street parking which is available within a few minutes walk down a side street. Its not that hard.

We were in room 1 which though large with 1 double and a single bed in, has a private bathroom down the hall rather than ensuite. I had noticed this on the website, and took a small robe just in case we got this room, so no awkward moments going to the bathroom.

The room we had was very tastefully decorated. Would have been nice to have a small chair or stool by the dressing table when drying my hair. Couldnt find the tv remote, but the tv worked fine- button on the tv itself did the job. We didnt report it as we were hardly in our room that much and it didnt affect us.

Breakfast was fine. I think it makes senses having it in the cafe, whats wrong with that? The staff on duty were very polite. No issues at all.

Its in a great location and is good value for money and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roouk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. You may have only stayed one night & booked last minute but your honesty and straightforwardness of this review has been quite refreshing.
We only hope that future customers reading reviews will benefit from this and not be steered by other slightly disgruntled guests.
As we state in our marketing and refer to in most reviews, we are a small guest house in the centre of Bowness that offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and are happy to see that we met with your expectations. We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again and again. We also wish to thank you for suggestion regarding stool/chair. Thank you again from ALL the Monties Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

So many things went wrong I don't know where to start. First of all we were unable to park on site as another car was blocking the entrance. I was told by the receptionist to park at the Pay and Display just down the road and that I should be able to park the night. However when I left the parking lot I saw the sign that said to phone for overnight parking. I got to the hotel but was told they had no booking for us. I showed them my confirmation number and we got checked in. I used my credit card to pay for two nights stay. When I mentioned having to phone for an overnight stay in the Pay and Display she said that I could have her parking spot along the road. I went back to our car and was able to park as she left it. This was about 5:15pm. We went for a walk down by thelake front to watch the swans, Canadian geese and ducks. After about a half hour we went back to the hotel where we found that our key would not unlock the door. I pressed the doorbell many times, but no one came. I called the hotel a few times leaving a voice mail each time. As I was getting no response from the hotel I went to the pub next door to see if they had phone number for the hotel owner - they did not. They too called the hotel and also left voice mail (they also had a room if we were unable to get into our room next door). After about a half hour the receptionist Debbie?) called me back to let me know that those keys had been used the night before, but would be able to be at the hotel in about half an hour. About 20 minutes after that call one of the guests came out the front door which allowed us to get in and go to our room. At this point it had been about an hour and a half since we had the problem getting in. Our party consisted of my wife an I and our 14 year old grand daughter. We then ran into our next challenge - we were hungry but only two of us could go at one time as there was still no way for us to get back into the hotel's locked door. My wife stsyed behind and when we got back I called out for her to open the front door. The room was quite warm and our only option was to open the windows to let in some fresh air. Unfortunately that also let in the noise of passing cars an cigarette smoke of passersby. About 10pm a man knocked on our door to help us with our front door key. He too had the same problem, the key wouldn't work. So he exchanged it for a new key. So off to bed we went to be woken up about 6:30am to the sound of passing lorries. We went downstairs for breakfast, told the receptionist we would not be spending a second night, was told there would be no refund, and answered that was OK. We had had enough stress and aggravation that we just had to leave. What shpuld have been a pleasant experience turned into a total unfortunate disaster.

Room Tip: Don't know what one would look as ours was not good :-(
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
9  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMH2011, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

As this booking was made the day prior to arrival through a third party website, we had not received notification. However, the guests were greeted by a member of staff and shown to their room. We were unaware of any previous problems with the front door key but have since replaced them for all rooms, following this guests difficulties.
We do clearly state that we are situated in the centre of the village and that parking and street noise are clearly beyond our control.
We are also sorry that this guest decided to depart a day early, despite been offered an alternative room at the back of the building.
We feel that our staff did their best to assist this guest with all issues and are sorry they did not have an enjoyable visit to the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had a terrible experience at this place, and we moved to another B&B. The owner was very aggressive; she was always stressed and speaking in an impolite and aggressive way. Adding to that, we switched twoo rooms; both were very uncomfortable. They were noisy because they were right on the street, the beds were very uncomfortable, and the lock of the window of one of them was broken so we froze in the evening in addition to suffering from the street noise. We moved to another B&B which was a world apart in terms of quality, convenience, calmness, lake view and pleasant service - and even was less expensive!

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tarek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

It is unfortunate that despite every effort made by our staff to accommodate and attend to this guests needs and requirements when they stayed with us 9 months ago, that such a negative review was put forward.
However, other reviews and comments in our visitors book for that same weekend, last year were much more appreciative and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here on the Easter weekend and had a wonderful time. It is right in the centre of Bowness so really handy for getting out and about! The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated. The staff could not be more helpful and to finish it all off the breakfast was spot on.
Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and look forward to revisiting in the spring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRGMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

What a lovely review and glad to read you had such a lovely stay with us. Be sure and tell your friends and we hope to see you back at Monties again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a fab time at monties, we had originally booked the wrong date (hubby's mistake) so was turning up the day after! When we contacted monties, we spoke to Deborah who was lovely and agreed to let us book another night (even though it was our mistake) don't know many hotels / b&bs who would be so helpful! We will definitely be booking to go back, rooms were lovely & clean and the breakfast was very nice! A real family / friendly run place and very central to all amenities, just what we wanted. Thanks Deborah for all your help.
Neil & Tracy

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmytubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

High praise indeed! We were delighted to be able to accommodate you both and very much hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I chose Monties as a last minute birthday getaway for myself, partner and 18 month old son.
Our room (Room 7) was a large room with a small en suite with shower. Very tastefully decorated, clean and had everything which we required. It was wonderfully warm which was great as the day we arrived was very snowy! A cot was provided free of charge for my son, which was very appreciated as many places in Bowness and Windermere do not accept children.
The B&B is situated on the main road 2 minutes walk from the lake and attractions, which was fantastic for us as we do not drive.
Breakfast in the morning in the cafe was great , with offerings of assorted cereals and hot breakfast items. Monties provided everything which we required, and the gentleman on duty was friendly and helpful.
We could not have asked for an more and for the price, it was a fantastic stopover. Would definitely come again and have already recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a large en suite room over looking the main road. We experienced some traffic noise but as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancsmumofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

What a lovely review and we are so glad you had such a lovely shoret break with us. Hopefully next time you come to visit it may be a little longer? Thak you again for taking the time to write this and we will be sure and pass on your lovely comments to all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

GOOD- Room was clean and nicely decorated and it was in a central location-literally right in the middle of town!!
BAD- When we arrived we were told our rooms bathroom was seperate and in the hall, would of preferred it in our room!! The tv didnt seem to be working properly, not really a major issue for us however if you are travelling with kids and all they want to do is watch it this could be an issue. And there was no one around after 5.30 when we arrived if you had a problem. The shower in the bathroom just seemed to work on either freezing cold or too hot and the breakfasts weren't anything to get excited about. Overall an average b an b!!

Room Tip: Maybe phone and make sure you have an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Shivs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking time to submit your review and for your comments with regard cleanliness & decor. With regard to other points raised, all rooms that weekend were offered on a late availability discount and on a first come/first serve basis (yours being last on the day). On checking with our housekeeper - all rooms facilities are checked regularly and no TV problems had been reported with that room. We apologise if you had difficulties with the shower but had either of these issues been brought to our attention at the time we would have been able to attend to them. We do have staff that live-in and are available at night for emergencies but we do also display alternative contact details in each room. We were sorry to read that you did not feel the same as so many other guests with regard to our breakfasts as this is something we regularly receive compliments on. Monties offer "clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation" and feel that at £29.50pp we offer more than average facilities and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
1.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monties Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monties Bed and Breakfast

Address: Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $72 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monties Bed and Breakfast is situated in the heart of Bowness village and is less than a five minute walk from Lake Windermere and Bowness Bay with its host of water activities. Bowness is a bustling village and has a real holiday feel in the evenings; there is a wide range of places to eat from fine restaurants, gastro pubs, various international restaurants as well as the more traditional pubs serving local ales - you really will be spoilt for choice. At Monties we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families, together with a fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monties Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monties Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Monties b&b
Monties Bed And Breakfast Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing