We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideous! Do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sutherlands Restaurant - CLOSED

Sutherlands Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Annan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hideous! Do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

A disgusting experience that has left me mentally scarred for life. Despite my misgivings as it looks very tacky from the outside, I decided to give it a chance as it was the only place close by offering a vegetable lasagne. Interior badly in need of a good clean and major cosmetic uplift. One waitress was lovely, the other was a miserable miserable person, who only smiled when we complained about how awful the meal was. As another person mentioned the garlic bread was the most revolting interpretation I have every come across - basically one white pitta bread, cut in half then fried in oil/garlic butter, the whole plate was swimming in fat. When I mentioned how 'surprised' I was to be presented with such a thing the waitress became quite defensive bordering on the aggressive. Ruined an otherwise lovely short break in the lake district. Be warned, do not go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v_vivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    169
    89
    51
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We either landed very lucky in one week or have differing tastes from others !! As well seasoned travellers and discerning diners we actually found this to be incredibly good value and excellent home cooking. The portions are huge, so not for the faint hearted !! Staff are friendly and efficient

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizzieAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor food everything else good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Looks inviting from outside however the food is a big letdown. Possibly the worst interpretation of a garlic bread since an experience in China. Prawn cocktail good but chili burger was a tasteless lump of mince with a sliced chili on top furnished with an uncooked onion ring. Battered feta cheese pretty terrible concept. Lamb ok as was chili but nothing bettering mediocre. Shame really as staff were nice as were the rooms.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Risingfromtheashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Garlic
Cloves on every thing and found a stone in my broth. Great floor staff but never eating here again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emerste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

After going into a few bars looking for a decent meal we gave up and went to this restaurant.

Very surprised at the standard of decor and service given the manic state of some other restaurants and bars in the town.
Pleasant staff, civilised atmosphere and surroundings with a good choice of food on the menu.
Food was of a very good standard and reasonably priced, try the lamb, very nice.
Three main meals, bottle of wine and a couple of soft drinks came to £54, given the quality this was great value in our opinion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenJayManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherlands Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing