We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guest house - we will be returning”
Review of The Westbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this last minute for a one night stay and opted for the compact room. We were more than happy with the location which had off street parking - a rarity that close to the town centre. We were welcomed with a quick tour of the place and then shown to our room. Despite it being known as a compact double - there was plenty of space, ideal for one night! Breakfast in the morning was lovely - the owners are very attentive and always happy to help. We will definitely be returning for a few more nights here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for The Westbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just arrived home after a three night break at this excellent hotel. My husband and I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. The owners Andre and Sue are delightful hosts. Thank you for your hospitality. We shall return very soon Margaret &Tony.

Room Tip: Room seven very spacious and very comfy bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I think it has all been said on many brilliant reviews already. It's a fabulous place to stay.

We know that Janet and Brian are standing in whilst the owners are away and they are great hosts. Super breakfast Brian

Well done

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferbillPrestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just recently come back from 3 nights B/B at the Westbourne. I knew of this place from several previous visits to Windermere/Bowness,but had never stayed. The owners have been there nearly 2 years and the welcome and service could not be faulted. The room was clean and perfect for our stay,little or no noise other than when I opended the window at night for fresh air as the room was spledidly warm but no complaints.
Choices at breakfast for all tastes and a lovely lounge downstairs if you wished to relax. A handy "honesty bar" was avalable if needed and plenty of parking off road,which is a plus in the lakes.
Away from the hotel and nothing has changed in the years ive been going to the lakes,other than a few places closed or shut which in previous years hadnt been. My first visit to the cinema in Bowness was a treat,like going back in time,right down to the lady serving ice creams off a tray at the " interval".
You do pay a slight premium for being in the "district" as food and drink prices are above average,but worth it overall.
An excellent stay.will be back !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathankinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Many visitors to the Lakes come by car and then like to explore on foot which is ideal if you are staying at The Westbourne.

This was illustrated initially as we drove uphill towards the guesthouse on roads made even narrower than usual by roadworks and noticed several other guesthouses but no obvious parking places in sight! Thankfully The Westbourne had its own free private off-street parking and that’s where our car remained for our 2 night stay. It’s only a 5 to 10 minute walk downhill to the town centre where there are many options for eating and drinking therefore you have the benefit of these facilities, no issues getting to and from them and are unlikely to experience associated noise disturbance.

At the time of our stay in mid-September 2012 we were given a reduced B&B rate of £102 per night for a large double room (#3) when I contacted the guesthouse direct.

Andre, one of the owners, met us on arrival and assisted with my wife’s bag when showing us to our room and explaining the facilities, etc. This helpful manner continued throughout our stay and Andre would spend some time chatting with us in the residents lounge in the passing to provide advice on places to visit and dine which was very useful - even extending this to lending us maps to illustrate some recommended walking routes. The lounge was very comfortable and as other TA reporters have mentioned it includes a small fridge with a selection of drinks for guests to take and record in a notepad “on trust” for later billing. (We found this handy a few times - nice local bottled beer £2.75, canned Gordons G&T £5.50 and wine £2.75 - more reasonable than your average mini-bar!).

There is free wi-fi access provided however the residents lounge (near the reception) was the only place we could pick up a signal - giving us an excuse to visit the honesty bar! The lounge also has an iPod with some tasteful background music.

The bedroom was spacious and bright with an outlook to the front of the building. It had a four poster bed, plenty of storage space, a small settee, tea & coffee making facilities, flat-screen television and a compact ensuite with shower. The ensuite looked as if it had refurbished in recent times however the electric shower lacked power. Some would possibly appreciate a bath after a long walk however this is not installed possibly due to space restrictions but we personally prefer a shower in any case - although one of the power variety. The bed had a firm, memory foam mattress which for us took a little time to adapt to however a bigger issue was that when either of us moved or turned the frame of the bed would creak quite noisily - either we need to do more walking to lose weight or the frame needs adjusting! Laughing aside it didn’t make for a great night’s sleep.

Breakfast, served in a room facing the front of the building, was very pleasant. Sue welcomed guests and took our order from the standard options available and the food was tasty.

In summary the guesthouse is very tastefully and traditionally furnished and the hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful. With an adjustment to the four poster we could happily stay another few nights in future as there is plenty to do in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Westbourne for one night on a late booking in the "compact double," .we weren't expecting much more than a large cupboard for a room! .What a lovely surprise from the minute you walk through the door you can tell the guest house is immaculately furnished and lovingly maintained to a high standard.The compact double was a lovely room well decorated and very comfortable,and not that small at all and we would have no worries about booking it again.The lounge with the self service fridge bar is a nice touch even though we didn't use it as only there one night,breakfast was very good and well serviced.All in all a great place to stay, so much so I have booked a family member in next year as their Xmas gift and we will definitely be returning.Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishaWigan_lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Westbourne was an excellent choice. We had a lovely room which was very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good. The house itself has been furnished to make it very welcoming. The owners were lovely and very helpful. After a hard day sightseeing we sat in the lounge and played scrabble. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbourne

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $77 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbourne Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Westbourne Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing