We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

just come back from a great last minute stay at field house! went up to join my mum and dad who have stayed at field house numerous times before, were given the ground floor room with a fab overlooking the lake travel cot was provided for our 13 month old and bed was very comfy! room was lovely and breakfast was tasty will definately be returning

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hevf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed at field house for 4 nights found it to be very clean good food collie teresa and frank were very friendly i could not find fault with this guest house and i looked as i am a ex owner of a hotel who has now retired the views were great the owners friendly the breakfast was very good what else could you ask for will stay there again if we go back to the lakes i would not stay any where else

Room Tip: they are all good back rooms have good views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just back home after a very enjoyable stay at Field House. Perfect location. We had a family room (3a) which is at the rear with lovely lake view out of the large sash window. Owners friendly with really great breakfasts on both mornings. Good size bathroom (shower room). Found the shower mixer a bit tempremental, but managed. Found this guest house to be excellent value for money. The ability to park your car for free in the centre of Windermere has to be a real bonus. Able to relax whilst there, walking to the nearby shops, restaurants, bars - all on your doorstep. No stress at all. Would definitely consider staying again!!! Freeview TV and wi-fi available in bedroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great service, lovely rooms, lake views, quite, and very good value for money. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are very chic (although the bathroom quite small). Quite and with lake views. 2 minutes walk to the lake and to the shopping area and centre. We are planning to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Myself and my wife spent a night in this boutique guest house, and on first impressions we were very happy, a lovely welcome, in a great location, with what looked a nice room with outstanding views of lake Windermere, on closer inspection the room was quite tired, with a loose toilet seat and broken plug release, not huge problems but added to the need for a refurb,(cracked walls, marks and a bit of damp) it all added up to a less than inspiring experience, disappointingly the guests above our room were noisy with little or no sound insulation in the floor/ceiling, making a late night waiting for the other guests to retire,1am, before we could get to sleep, also the toilet flush for other guests sounded like Niagara Falls, this sounds worse than it was and if the upstairs had been quiet it would have been much better.nice breakfast in the morning and a pleasant checkout

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A chic, boutique-style hotel that is economical compared with others. The locations and view (available in some rooms) are great! I especially appreciated the service. I asked for two rooms together with a view and the owners granted my request. The breakfast is great. A wonderful yet economical guest house in which to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view; it may be available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time visitors to bowness, and stayed for 3 nights over the weekend. Field house is in a superb location very close to the bars, shops and restaurants. We had a very enjoyable stay, this is everything that you could want in a guest house and we were made to feel very welcome. Room clean, large comfortable bed and good breakfasts which were cooked in front of you in an excellent atmosphere. If you want a good guest house then in bowness the we would recommend field house.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank TheLambs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $98 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Field House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing