We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay. . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great place to stay. . . .”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A chic, boutique-style hotel that is economical compared with others. The locations and view (available in some rooms) are great! I especially appreciated the service. I asked for two rooms together with a view and the owners granted my request. The breakfast is great. A wonderful yet economical guest house in which to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view; it may be available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    40
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
112
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First time visitors to bowness, and stayed for 3 nights over the weekend. Field house is in a superb location very close to the bars, shops and restaurants. We had a very enjoyable stay, this is everything that you could want in a guest house and we were made to feel very welcome. Room clean, large comfortable bed and good breakfasts which were cooked in front of you in an excellent atmosphere. If you want a good guest house then in bowness the we would recommend field house.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheLambs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ayeup Field House.
Wanted a few days away with my wife somewhere nice. Chose to stay in Bowness in Windermere. Chose Field House which was very central & handy for the shops & eating places & the lake. A very good choice. You can't beat the lakes for switching off.
Our room was at the back high up (room 6) which had a lovely view of the lake (very nice en-suite) Could watch the lake tour boats come & go. Free car parking was in an an adjacent private carpark virtually next to Field House.
A homely feel to our stay was evident when you are greeted with a smile & a chat & info re your stay. Made to feel welcome.
Breakfast was a lovely affair. The open kitchen made the whole thing quite informal & relaxing. Music in the background filled the air...makes a good start to the day!
Eateries to try... Rumours, Village Grill & LakeView Carvery.
Reviews can be seen on TripAdvisor.
Would defo go back again.

Room Tip: Try for a high room at the back overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyK596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were taken on a surprise trip by our sister and brother in law, who had stayed twice before. Field House is just a lovely place to stay ,we couldnt have been made more welcome,great views of windermere from our bedroom.and a lovely breakfast ,cooked in view of our table...what great layout. would like to thank Frank and family for their hospitality ...especially the bottle of champagne and card.....a lovely touch. My wife and i will certainly book again. Simon and Joanne Teager

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house is in a perfect position; a short walk from all the restaurants and pubs, but just far enough away to avoid noise. It is decorated beautifully and was very clean. The owners are really friendly and welcoming and give tips on walks and restaurants/pubs to visit etc. Breakfast tasted amazing and there was music playing (which made it much more comfortable than others I’ve visited). Our room was a good size and had a good lake view. There were toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were great - lots of food on piping hot plates! The room was spotlessly clean, and the shower, although small, was lovely and warm. We would certainly stay there again if we were in the area. Interesting light fittings! One of the owners paints some amazing pictures which are displayed around the premises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer a wee bit from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We went for a few days away, to relax. The staff we're very friendly and helpful. Family run b&b which helped to make it more of a warm and relaxed place to stay, breakfast was fab, we certainly weren't left feeling hungry. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisabluegeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#13 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Property: Field House Guest House
Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Field House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing