We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our son is registered blind but it made no difference here, the owners were very friendly and helpful. They gave us a ground floor room with a view of the lake . Very nicely decorated and clean as a whistle. Shower perhaps a little small but more than useable. Breakfast as previously stated was excellent . They arranged parking at ground level so our son didn't have to climb the steps from the lower car park, that was a nice touch. Place was fully booked over the weekend with returning couples which should indicate how good this was.

Room Tip: The back of the house has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hector2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a family room with the lakeview. The room is actually at the back overlooking a garden with partial view of the lake. It was really a lovely view from our windows especially at dawn and when the sun sets in the evening. The room is nice, the beds are comfy and the decor is very english. But the bathroom is a bit too small. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the pier where there are a few cruises that you can take and the shops too are just around the corner. The service is good and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Parking is no problem too.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Decided on a 3 night mini break for our 8th Anniversay and decided on a trip to the Lake District. We decided on Bowness on Windermere and chose the Field House Guest house. It is owned by a wonderful family Collette Teresa and Frank who make you feel so welcome right from the start.The room we had looked over the harbour with glorious views of the boats crossing the lake. The room was very clean and had a massive king size bed which was very comfortable. Tea and Coffee facilities were available. The bathroom had a good size shower and there was also a hair dryer provided which was a nice touch. The guest house is less than 5 minutes walk to the shops bars resturants and the harbour itself. The breakfast at Field house was absolutely fantastic Cereal to start with toast jam and marmalade followed by a full cooked English breakfast. (cooked in front of you in a open plan kitchen.) We spent our 3 day break visiting Hill top farm in Sawry home of Beatrix Potter Hawkeshead a very pretty village and Wordsworths Dove cottage and his much grander childhood home. We also went on a sunset cruise on the lake and finished our last evening with a wonderful meal in one of the many great resturants.We will definitely be going back to Windermere in the future and will definitely be booking the Field guest house again.Thank you Collette Teresa and Frank you made our Anniversay a very happy and memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Harbour view. We stayed in room 5 but there are others available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break at field house ,really enjoyed our stay ,hosts were very friendly ,its in a fantastic spot pubs and restaurants on your door step,there is parking at the rear ,room was lovely we had room 5 with a lake view ,room was spotless and suprisingly modern ,lovely breakfast in morning cant wait to return xx

Room Tip: we had room 5 with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woo1234187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband stay a lot it must be the best guest house in the area, nothing is too much trouble for owners Frank Colly and Theresa. Its a fab little boutique style house with gorgeous rooms, especially the ones overlooking the lake (what a view). The breakfasts are fab really fill you up.Its a great location ideal for evertthing in the area. Dont think about it CHECK IN you ll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have just spent a great week in Field House, Frank, Colly & Theresa made me so welcome i wish i could have stayed for another week,
The breakfasts will keep you going till dinner time, Their house is extremely clean, and you are all made to feel very welcome, the off street parking is good too, great location for exploring the lakes.
Tony from London

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Field House for six nights in the family room in August 2012.

The house itself is very nice, conveniently located near the centre of town and with a nice balcony overlooking a park (actually the gardens of a large hotel next door) and down to Windermere itself. One of the family, Frank, is an artist and his paintings - along with the occasional Renoir print - adorn the walls throughout. This gives it a very individual and slightly boutiquey feel which we enjoyed.

The family are very friendly and were happy to sit and chat or not as we wished. Everything we asked for was provided and they were very happy to let us sit in the reception room having a drink in the evening. Generally, they were lovely people who take an interest in their guests.

Food: the breakfasts are made in the public kitchen, which is part of the dining room. This is a nice touch as it means that you can interact with your hosts over breakfast, and that tends to lead you to join in conversations with other guests. We noted that some guests were less keen on this, and they were not forced to join in at all. The breakfast itself is lovely and filling - the bacon in particular was very well cooked. I've had a lot of bad bacon in hotels! The hosts were flexible, buying in black pudding at our request (it's not standard).

We managed to eat a different type of meal every night - pizza, indian, steak, two different bistros, and a buffet cruise on the lake - without ever walking more than about 10 minutes from the house.

There was a bit of trouble with water through the windows, but to be fair it's an old house, it was absolutely hammering down, and it was fixed as soon as we mentioned it.

All in all, very good - I would happily recommend it and we are certainly thinking of going again.

Room Tip: The family room (number 6) at the back has a nice view of the lake, and is away from the road, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,491 reviews
0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $126 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Field House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing