We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sylvia Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Field House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband stay a lot it must be the best guest house in the area, nothing is too much trouble for owners Frank Colly and Theresa. Its a fab little boutique style house with gorgeous rooms, especially the ones overlooking the lake (what a view). The breakfasts are fab really fill you up.Its a great location ideal for evertthing in the area. Dont think about it CHECK IN you ll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have just spent a great week in Field House, Frank, Colly & Theresa made me so welcome i wish i could have stayed for another week,
The breakfasts will keep you going till dinner time, Their house is extremely clean, and you are all made to feel very welcome, the off street parking is good too, great location for exploring the lakes.
Tony from London

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Field House for six nights in the family room in August 2012.

The house itself is very nice, conveniently located near the centre of town and with a nice balcony overlooking a park (actually the gardens of a large hotel next door) and down to Windermere itself. One of the family, Frank, is an artist and his paintings - along with the occasional Renoir print - adorn the walls throughout. This gives it a very individual and slightly boutiquey feel which we enjoyed.

The family are very friendly and were happy to sit and chat or not as we wished. Everything we asked for was provided and they were very happy to let us sit in the reception room having a drink in the evening. Generally, they were lovely people who take an interest in their guests.

Food: the breakfasts are made in the public kitchen, which is part of the dining room. This is a nice touch as it means that you can interact with your hosts over breakfast, and that tends to lead you to join in conversations with other guests. We noted that some guests were less keen on this, and they were not forced to join in at all. The breakfast itself is lovely and filling - the bacon in particular was very well cooked. I've had a lot of bad bacon in hotels! The hosts were flexible, buying in black pudding at our request (it's not standard).

We managed to eat a different type of meal every night - pizza, indian, steak, two different bistros, and a buffet cruise on the lake - without ever walking more than about 10 minutes from the house.

There was a bit of trouble with water through the windows, but to be fair it's an old house, it was absolutely hammering down, and it was fixed as soon as we mentioned it.

All in all, very good - I would happily recommend it and we are certainly thinking of going again.

Room Tip: The family room (number 6) at the back has a nice view of the lake, and is away from the road, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Many Thanks to Colette, Teresa & Frank for being warm & friendly during our stay, we were made to feel as one of the family. Nice glass of wine on arrival & good conversation on the patio area with hosts. We found the room was very comfortable (king size bed) & overlooking the lake , then waking up in the morning ( as you do) to be supplied with a choice of cereals or full english for breakfast with toast ( they will try to accommodate for varying tastes).

Literally 2 minutes walk from the lake, access to the various lake & bus tours, or in my case a direct tour to all of the local watering holes & eating places.

Again many thanks to the hosts, if i'm over that way again next year we will most definitely be booking in again..

Ken & Gilda

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Field House for one night .The room on the top floor over looking the street was a bit on the small side as was the bathroom We thought the paper floor mats were a bit tacky they would dissolve on contact after having a shower. Colette and Teresa were great hosts as was Frank. all in all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had stayed at Field House a few times in the past but it had been 6 years or more since our last visit and what a wonderful suprise we had the whole of the ground floor had been completely remodelled to a beautifully high standard.A tastefullly decorated lounge dining room and open plan kitchen had replaced the small dark rooms of old.The room we stayed in was luxuriously furnished and had a lake view .The nicest change of all were the new owners Teresa Colette and Frank who were welcoming friendly and attentive.They made our weekend away in Bowness for our daughter Katy's 24th birthday really special and we cant thank them enough.

Room Tip: lake view in room 2 and the one above it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A truly wonderful stay for our 1st Anniversary Aug 2012 in an idylic little village full of traditional and modern pubs, restaraunts, cafes and gift shops. Plenty to see and do!
A hearty Liverpudllion family run business with friendly atmosphere. A quaint little guest house with remarkable artist influences for wall coverings and stunning Chandelears. Room a little small and slighlty expensive but none the less clean and tidy.
Stunning views from rear patio garden area of the lake Windemere.
Would reccomend to friends and family, but a popular stay so early bookings is necessary.
Hopefully see you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidnac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field House Guest House

Address: 6 Belsfield Terrrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $98 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Field House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Field House Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Field House Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing