We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst thai i have ever tried”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I can't believe that some people have rated this restaurant as the "best thai food ever. We must be very spoiled here in West Yorkshire as Jintana could not compete in the slightest. The food was very disappointing and bland. The signature desert had sweetcorn in it, which was disgusting! I would not recommend anyone to this restaurant even though the staff are friendly and offer a good standard of service. The food is just awful...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mattandnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jintanathai, Manager at Jintana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Dear Mattandnem, Thank you for your passionate review of your experience recently at Jintana Thai Restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. At Jintana Thai Restaurant we always cook our food with the freshest of ingredients to ensure that each dish tastes it best and DO NOT use MonoSodiumGlutimate (MSG) unlike many other establishments. We are surprised that you found your food bland. One of our Desserts, Saku (not a signature dish) which is a Thai Sago Pudding, does traditionally contain sweetcorn, and whilst this may seem a strange idea to a western palette, is authentic, and actually very nice.
I am glad you found the friendly staff offered a good standard of service. Our staff always come to check at each table to see if you are enjoying your meal, and would have returned the dish to the kitchen if the flavour was not perfectly to your liking. Looking at your other review, it seems you did not have an enjoyable trip in the English Lakes. We hope that your next trip will be more pleasant and would be very happy if you would visit Jintana Thai Restaurant again. Jintana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,523 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2009

This restaurant was absolutely amazing and a completely unexpected find. The food was excellent being high quality and exceedingly authentic plus it was really good value too. The service was efficient and extremely courteous – the waitresses were so friendly and helpful . Generally I have found the food and service in Windermere restaurants to be very average however this restaurant has bucked the trend for me. I was so impressed I went back on consecutive nights!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Manchester025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A little gem in Bowness, this place is a fantastic to dine in after a long days walking around the lakes. Quality of food superb, being a Thai food fan, I can honestly say that this is some of the best I have ever tasted!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rendesvouz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Wandered into this restaurant on a Monday night and it was full!! Managed to get booked in for later that evening and had a pretty good meal. Could do with a bit more bite to some of the dishes but overall reasonable experience. My only complaint would be the prices, but as we discovered pretty much all of the eating places in the Lake District are expensive, some of them ridiculously so, charging more than Central London!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank singledingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Although good location and decor but the food was a let down.

Starters bland and main course lacked the traditional thai flavours we have grown used to.

Chicken was stale and smelly and frankly with the ready made sauces available one can make better thai food at home.....

There are too many restaurants on the street to chose form, this is not one of them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing