We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ate here on a busy Saturday night and the food was excellent. The service too is also good but if I was to criticize it would be to say that there wasn't too much gap between courses. We have eaten here several times and each meal has been worth the visit. The staff are really friendly and helpful and I would recommend this restaurant if you like Thai food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriarCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    341
    146
    62
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Chaophraya of the Lakes”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been there twice now - and the food is excellent - which is what its all about - rather than the fact that its up a flight of stairs - which are nothing to the hill that its situated on !!!. A bit wacky at times with its mix of european and thai staff which brings an ecclectic blend of cultures to the meaning of customer service - which is none the less also very attentive and excellent. The decor with its plastic palm may not be swish and elegant and this is reflected in the price - which is also very good - but the food and service are on a par with our favourite Thai resturant of all time Chaophraya in Manchester. WE'LL BE GOING BACK !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Would rather starve than go back”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Tacky decor, look out for the plastic palm tree in the entrance. Think the chef must have had sun stroke cause they forgot to put any flavour in the food, which looked unappealing. The tables are really close together. Steep flight of stairs to get to it, wish we hadn't bothered. The service was good but couldn't make up for the food. almost enough to put us off Thai food forever

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireandGrahamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jintanathai, Manager at Jintana Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Even a gentle flight of stairs will appear extremely steep when drunk, The stairs to the restaurant are quite average. The imported rattan palm tree may appear plastic to someone who's had far to much to drink, and in general a persons sense of taste diminishes with excessive intake of alcohol. We are surprised you recall enough of your drunken threats to remember to make good on them and post a vindictive report on here. We will happily serve anyone of legal drinking age, but if you are barely able to stand you will not be served alcohol. This is the law, not made up by us to spoil your evening. We are glad you will not be returning,and have our fingers crossed you will make good on your promise of starving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rushed”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after it being recommended by the staff at the angel inn as we were too late to get food there. The restaurant states it serves till 10, so when we arrived at 9.35, we were slightly surprised and confused when we were told to wait whilst she checked if the kitchen was still serving (a whole 25minutes before they say they serve till?!? And it wasn't as if it was quiet, they had plenty of ppl in their, Most confusing!)so the waitress came back and said we could be seated, but that if we wanted starters and mains, they would all have to come out together! We were hungry, so this is what we did. The food came and it was all really really nice, just a shame it was so rushed. A couple that came in not long after us were also met with the same instruction that they would have to order starters and mains together (they looked just as surprised!) would go again for the food and the pleasant atmosphere.... Just way way way before half 9!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jintanathai, Manager at Jintana Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have looked into your claims and would advise setting your watch forward by 15 minutes as you arrived at 9.50. However whilst we usually take starter and main orders at the same time we appologise if you understood this to mean you would have to eat starters and main course at the same time. We have re trained staff to explain this matter properly and have updated our opening time signs to make them even clearer. We are glad you enjoyed our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Popped in here for an evening meal after a number of the other restaurants nearby were full due to deals they do with the local cinema.

When we arrived it was fairly empty, but within 20 mins of being there people were being turned away unless they had booked (good sign, and nice timing from me!)

The layout and décor of the restaurant was what I would expect from a Thai, nothing special, but nice, clean, tidy.

Ladies, skip this sentence. Gents, lets be honest, the main reason we ever choose a Thai restaurant is because the waitresses will always be stunning, you won't be disappointed here.

We opted for crispy rolls and chicken strips for starters, with chicken/cashew, and green curry for mains (with Singha beer of course). The food was excellent, and very well presented, good sized portions, particularly the rice.

As the food was so nice, desert was a must, and it was also very nice, although perhaps the deserts were a little costly for what you got, whilst the rest of the meal was reasonably priced.

I would certainly go again, but I'll ensure that I book so that I'm not let down!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing