We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still great!”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Lake District
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just had another take away from here.

We also eat in from time to time.

Great food again.

For four of us.

Starters:
Khao Kreb Tod (Crackers), Pla Muk Chup Pang Tod (Squid), Buu Jaar (Crabcakes) and Satay Gai (Chicken satay sticks).

Main:
Gaeng Garee Gung (King prawn in yellow curry)
Pad Thai (Noodles (with Chicken))
Pad Ka Pow Neua (Beef, fresh chillies, garlic, basil)
Gaeng Mussamun Gae (Lamb, cashews, onion, new potato)
Khao Suay (Jasmin Rice)
Khao Neiow (Sticky Rice)

Just the right amounts. Nothing left,but we wouldn't want more.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    328
    138
    61
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time, impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

On our 4th visit to Windermere staying for the week, we had tried nearly every other Thai restraunt and for the price they was good, where as this for the price was brilliant. Firstly before we go and eat I search trip advisor for the restraunt and this is what decides where we go, so after a few good reviews this was the place, we have also said we must try this place every time we pass, anyway we were greeted and took to our reserved table (just in case) where we was seated, a little to close to the other table for two couple but it was ok, the table was layer nicely with the menus ready, immediately we were asked what drinks we wanted (well after 5 minutes) we had to explain what we wanted but it was understandable (white wine spritser) they came within 1 minute which was brilliant, we then ordered our food (the menu was brilliant and has such a wide range) the wood came within the next 5 minutes which was again brilliant because we were starving, I ordered a sizzling dish and rice for main and some king prawn and pork steamed balls for starters, each came with an elegantly decorated vegetable/ salad side and a dip of some kind which really added quality and effort to the dish. Now the restraunt wasn't to busy but it kind of felt we was being only a tiny bit rushed due to the waitress walking passed us and other customers tables every 5 minutes looking at our tables to remove empty dishes or to order more drinks, we were asked how our meal was and it was amazing and really tasty, we had finished and our plates were took along with our dessert orders, which again was elegantly decorated and the ice cream was really smooth and tasty. All in all the food was brilliant and in a way the service was, the only thing I could say is to just let the customers relax a little and be available when they need something instead of checking all the time, I know after being to hundreds of restraints that this is just a way of trying to make the customers happy with
quick service but only ask them once half way through and hold back on walking past them a lot

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Yum!
We were at a loss about where to eat one night and ended up in here by accident rather than choice (it was 9.30pm on a Monday night). But I'm so glad we did! The food was really tasty and quick - we both had Pad Thai - and the service was great. The noodles were delicious and the sauce was nutty and slightly sweet. Just thinking of it makes me want one now..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I took my parents.We really enjoyed our meals and the service was excellent.
Overall a great restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F00die411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Thai in the Lake District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

One wouldn't really eat Thai food when one is on holiday in the Lake District. But then Thai food has that special allure. The decor in this restaurant on the first floor is little kitch, but we have seen worse. We had Fish Cakes, Green Papaya Sald, Yum Woo Sen, Pad Thai with beef, Prawn Fried Rice. The fish cakes were fine, nothing special. The papaya salad was on the small side, and there was more carrot than papaya. Tasted good but not the best ever. The Yum was nice but with a tiny amount of the woo sen (mungbean vermicelli). The Pad Thai was excellent and so was the fried rice. They have non-alcoholic cocktails which were nice. We only had room for one pudding and we chose sticky rice with mango, which was very typical. However, it came with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream and a wafer !! I had to use the wafer as a barrier to stop the warm sticky rice melting the ice cream. The two really don't go together, but then it was two desserts in one. I really only wanted to give it 3.5 points but that wasn't an option here. Hence 4.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pibochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing