We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service not so good”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, service not so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found the food to be very good at this restaurant but sadly the floor staff seemed to be out of their depth on the evening we visited. Despite several tables being unoccupied they seemed flustered at where to sit us despite having made a reservation several days earlier.

However, we enjoyed our visit and would probably return again primarily for the good food/drink. Prices were also reasonable - about average for a local Thai restaurant. Location is good on the primary road into Bowness from Windermere and there are plenty of pubs/bars nearby for a drink before/after. The location is above some shops so you enter via a small door which leads up some stairs to the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    328
    138
    61
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing takeaway!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ordered takeaway from here as the menu looked good and varied, went to collect the food and they brought the bill over for us to check, and we noted one of the main courses was missing off the bill so told them. They brought us the food minus one main course, this was brought 5 minutes later! We had 2 bags of Thai crackers which were broken and very dry, not like other Thai crackers I have eaten, we had 2 sharing platters which were also very dry and dissapointing! We had an extra main course that we had not ordered! I had pad Thai noodles for main, and it came out of the container in one congealed lump, had about 4 mouthfuls and left the rest! My friends said their mains were not much better! I would have returned and complained but the restaurant would have been closed and we were going home the next day, for what we paid it was a complete disappointment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazza029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great meal as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ate here during the week and had the 2 course special for 12.95 each. The portions were full size, no scrimping which made this excellent value. We have eaten here many times and the food and service was excellent as usual.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited Jintana whilst on holiday, and I can safely say, it was the best Thai meal that we have had. It started off well, when a couple leaving the restaurant as we went in, told us that their meal had been fantastic. The whole experience from service to quality of food was just excellent. We decided to have a set meal for two, which was excellent value for money and extremely scrummy. Needless to say, there was nothing left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Yet another excellent meal.
This time we visited May not November and took advantage of the "early evening menu...same quality as you get from the main menu, only not as many options but for the price the quality is exactly the same. Very friendly staff who help you with your choice if unsure NO PRESSURE just helpful. We have never been disappointed with the food, BUT MAKE A BOOKING it is very popular, if you want to eat after the "early evening menu 5.30-6.30" .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudge35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing