We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jintana Thai Restaurant

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food is very good and very reliable, standard Thai menu, not badly priced given the location. Service is efficient and friendly, and the atmosphere is good. Highly recommended, book in advance at weekends as they are often full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    322
    137
    60
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“god thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The restaurant was very busy and we were lucky to get a table. The service was quick andf efficient and the food arrived very quickly. Although not the best Thai meal I have ever had it was quite good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good but nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is an upstairs restaurant which may present some problems for customers with walking difficulties. The décor is authentic and on the very cold evening on which we attended the heating could have been better. We moved from near the toilet door due to a draft but a seat near the window was not much better. My king prawn salad starter provided some very agreeable heat but not suitable for the faint hearted. The remainder of the meal, chicken sizzler & squid stir-fry were well cooked, tasty and nicely presented as were the accompaniments of jasmine & coconut rice and yellow noodles. In keeping with the majority of Lake District restaurants there is no such thing as a bargain to be had and even the prawn cracker taster which is often complimentary at some establishments attracted a £2 charge here. Part of a three restaurant chain in the Lake District and quite enjoyable. Not sure it merits #6 of 50 restaurants in Bowness but would visit again if Thai was required.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candreac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Early evening visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had just visited Blackwells which closed at 5p.m. and decided to eat before driving home across Cumbria. Jintana was open with a special early priced menu and it did not disappoint.
Service was quick and friendly. We both had a delicious Thai Green Curry and would recommend this restaurant for good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clareKirkbyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice try Thai..!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Upstairs restaurant....food is ok without being too critical...seems as though maybe they are using a tried and tested way of feeding the customers and have maybe lost the ability to create anything special...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fluke831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing