We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could and should be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrogate, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Could and should be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had fish and chips from this takeaway on a Saturday night. Whilst there wasn't too much to complain about, fish and chips could and should be so much better. We were absolutely starving having walked up Scafell pike during the day, but not even this managed to get the quality of the fish and chips up to the average mark. I would try somewhere else.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    21
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cod? Not sure it was.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Ordered Cod and chips from here on a recent visit to Bowness. This used to be our favourite chip shop when staying in the area. What I got did not taste at all like cod, in fact it had very little flavour at all and had the texture of something that had been frozen. Batter was crisp on one side and wet on the other. Chips were not crisp at all, just pasty and greasy. Don't think we will be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Tiny fish and chip shop opposite the Beatrice Potter attraction. The owners were very friendly and falling over themselves to be helpful. The batter on the fish was the lightest I've ever tasted. The kids meal of fish bites and chips was huge and would easily have fed an adult. We visited in the sunshine so sat at a little table outside on the pavement. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We recently came to you chip shop while on our visit up to the lakes, we called in once for fish and chips asked for 1 cod and 1 haddock but neither of the fish were cod or haddock they were just some kind of white fish but tasteless... Other than the dreadfull fish the chips were lovely so went up to the other chip shop vinegar jones to get a decent fish which was lovely... We will come back but only for chips!! and the staff were very friendly and helpful aswell :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a quick fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was ok but not the best chippy ive ever had. It hit the spot though and filled our bellies. A little on the pricey side too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CJWaldron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing