We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run accommodation”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family run accommodation”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The White lodge is a friendly family run guest house with excellent service and they were very accommodating as we had two elderly disabled people with us
Highly recommended would certainly return
Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. My sister & I and our close knit team have been running
White Lodge for some years and it is always very welcome to receive such a review. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    52
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
106
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Bowness recently, having never stayed in. B&B/Guesthouse before I have to admit I wasn't sure and worried it would be too old fashioned and not very private. However, I found it to be the opposite. A lady I believe called Jo is very helpful and everything we needed or requested was never a problem. Perhaps a little old fashioned but in pace with the whole town which is what you want. Exceptionally clean, outstanding actually and I'm very fussy. I agree with earlier comments that a seating area outside would be lovely and we would have made use of it in the afternoon. Parking is great, everything is in walking distance. The chap complaining about the key is just an idiot- a) why would this determine your decision and b) just take it off......
Breakfast was very good, high quality and very clean. A menu would be helpful but those who are not bashful " ask and you shall get" . Slept well, 4 poster bed with good linen. Free wine and chocs for booking direct. If you compare the area the rate is reasonable for the great location. Would stay again but would love a seating area outside

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.Best wishes from
all of us at White Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay and would happily have stayed longer. The owners, 2 sisters, were very friendly and helpful. Our room , room 5, was a lovely four poster with a modern spacious ensuite.
Breakfast was wonderful. Proper bread used for the toast, no cheap and nasty supermarket stuff. The sausages were high quality and I'm guessing from a local butcher, again most definitely not cheepos from the nearest shop!
We were allowed to leave our car for a while after check out for a 50p donation to a conservation charity tin. More than willing and what a great idea!
Look forward to staying again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTomoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is very much appreciated.My sister & I have
run White Lodge for some years. I must say it is a very enjoyable & interesting job.Best wishes
from us and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Similar to another revue we were in room 12 which is a family room. Our stay was ok. The parking was good as was the location. The key that you get given however is quite inconvenient as the key is attached to a huge brass plaque which you have to carry around - so make sure you either have very deep pockets or a bag !!

Breakfast wasnt that great, it filled us up but the quality was lacking and we were both pretty disappointed.

However, the room itself was nice and big, they supply shampoo and soap, tea coffee and biscuits ( we too as mentioned by someone else did not recieve chocolates but we didnt book direct). Overall an ok stay, good for a one night stop off and good to see the local area but not overly impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackrosepetals91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are usually complimented on our breakfast not only on quality but also quantity & choice.
Just to recap we offer fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts & a breakfast cooked to order which
includes eggs from a local farm (poached,fried, or scrambled) bacon & sausage from the
best butcher in the lakes, tomatoes,baked beans,mushrooms & hash browns.Accompanied by
wholemeal & farmhouse bread.Cafetieres of freshly ground coffee & tea.We also have a variety
of herbal teas & decaff tea or coffee.The Great English Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed for one night, our room 12 was a family room with double bed and a single in the corner, with bath and shower (didn't book a family room though) on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which is quiet our own back door enabling us to bring the luggage in at our pace. It must be a seasonal thing as we found the price was high for what we had. next door room 14 was even smaller and just a shower. But apart from that all staff were polite, helpful and breakfast was adequate. Free wifi no freeview channels.
Outside of our window was a gravelled space which could have had a couple of chairs and a table to sit outside in the late afternoon sunshine and fill the empty flower pots with a few flowers instead of weeds, am I being picky !!

Room Tip: Room 12 is a family room with own access and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your somewhat biased review.Both the Family room and the Double room are of
a good size. I am afraid that the pots you described as being full of weeds are actually filled with
lavender. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A very interesting Victorian building with a wonderfully authentic period dining room - including some historic interior photographs framed on the walls - fascinating. All very bright, light, clean and comfortable - super traditional breakfast and the owners are charming, cultured and artistic. Surprisingly quiet once the shops are shut, we had a lovely night's sleep though we were at the front corner of the hotel, bordering the main road. A very nice place to stop over.

Room Tip: Four-poster room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenKnibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review White Lodge. The house has had many interesting lives
and we were so glad that you enjoyed your stay. With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the White Lodge Hotel. We're greeted by very friendly staff who chatted for ages with us giving us ideas of where to go and what to do.

Our room was a good size and bathroom facilities were adequate for a couple of days.

It is an easy walk to the main shopping area (only 5 mins) so we left our car at the hotel for the day (plenty of parking available).

Breakfast was hearty.

Room Tip: Try to,get one that doesn't look over the road - it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We always include a bottle of wine & a box of chocolates when Guests book directly with us.
Best wishes from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing