We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley lovely hotel and also very helpful staff, would definitely return !!”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutley lovely hotel and also very helpful staff, would definitely return !!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Brilliant hotel, great location, very clean nice modern spacious rooms, and a lovely view from the rooms window, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. Breakfast is served from 8:30-9-:15 and was great value for money, would definitely recomend to anybody visiting bowness!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieGoodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Feed back is so important for us. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    52
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
108
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I booked a room for 18th july 2012. this hotel was 4 star. The damp smell in the room was really bad, damp on walls, rust on blinds, dirty carpets. I could not even stay in the room i had payed for therefore left the hotel and returned home, without staying. I have contacted the owner upon returning home, but have not been offered any refund. Not happy with the standard at all. I took pics which if im not given a refund will take this matter further to get my money back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
43 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
The guest stayed for 4 hours during which time she used all the facilities in the room & why not if you are staying. After she left I received a phone call from the lady that if I did not reimburse her
she would put adverse comments on Tripadvisor. I don't understand that if everything was so amiss that she would want to stay in the room for 4 hours. I do not recognise the photos that she has posted on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

stayed for one night on the way to Scotland, very friendly hotel, lovely breakfast nice clean rooms
just what we needed ready for our onward journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was looking for accommodation suitable for a female travelling alone. I hit a gem of a place! I had a single room, very comfortable. Liz and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Adequate parking facilities which is a must when visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jempuddleduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

WE stayed one night and although the hotel was old we were comfy and warm with the radiators and our basement room was very quiet. The location is superb and we got good advice to eat at their sister hotel restaurant which was a great meal.

Room Tip: We had room 14..in the basement but not under the kitchen and facing the back carpark so not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Feedback is so essential and we appreciate you taking the time
to do so. White Lodge is on a split level so the room you had was on the Ground Floor at the back
with plenty of windows and with access to the rear carparks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here on the 25th may for three nights upon arrival we were greeted by the very pleasant owner who even offered to help with luggage to our room. When we went into the room there was a bottle if champagne waiting for us complimentary of the owner for which we were very grateful for. The room itself was lovely and spacious with four poster bed and the bathroom was at very high standard with amazing shower and although you got paper bath mats they are the most hygienic.
Television in room was flatscreen and of adequate size although the choice of channels was remote as we could only receive three or four channels but we weren't bothered bout that. Bed was really comfortable and room was well decorated and very clean. Breakfast was lovely cooked to perfection decent choice of juices and yoghurts and we were even offered more toast. Totally enjoyed our stay and are planning to go back in few months and a big thankyou for the owner once again for champagne the guest house was fantastic and would highly recommend it to anyone.

The newly weds gibsons

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

For a last minute choice,The White Lodge served its purpose, which was to provide a clean room with a comfortable bed in a quiet location. Liz and Jo went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and the full English breakfast was one of the best. The exterior of the building is beginning to look tired but the staff make up for it with their enthusiasm to please. Great location for a short walk down to the lake and shops.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to rooms on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkalukwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,877 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing