We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/nice staff”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location/nice staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

WE stayed one night and although the hotel was old we were comfy and warm with the radiators and our basement room was very quiet. The location is superb and we got good advice to eat at their sister hotel restaurant which was a great meal.

Room Tip: We had room 14..in the basement but not under the kitchen and facing the back carpark so not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Feedback is so essential and we appreciate you taking the time
to do so. White Lodge is on a split level so the room you had was on the Ground Floor at the back
with plenty of windows and with access to the rear carparks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    52
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
101
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here on the 25th may for three nights upon arrival we were greeted by the very pleasant owner who even offered to help with luggage to our room. When we went into the room there was a bottle if champagne waiting for us complimentary of the owner for which we were very grateful for. The room itself was lovely and spacious with four poster bed and the bathroom was at very high standard with amazing shower and although you got paper bath mats they are the most hygienic.
Television in room was flatscreen and of adequate size although the choice of channels was remote as we could only receive three or four channels but we weren't bothered bout that. Bed was really comfortable and room was well decorated and very clean. Breakfast was lovely cooked to perfection decent choice of juices and yoghurts and we were even offered more toast. Totally enjoyed our stay and are planning to go back in few months and a big thankyou for the owner once again for champagne the guest house was fantastic and would highly recommend it to anyone.

The newly weds gibsons

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

For a last minute choice,The White Lodge served its purpose, which was to provide a clean room with a comfortable bed in a quiet location. Liz and Jo went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and the full English breakfast was one of the best. The exterior of the building is beginning to look tired but the staff make up for it with their enthusiasm to please. Great location for a short walk down to the lake and shops.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to rooms on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkalukwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Room was adequate but bathroom was very small. Best was the free parking, friendly staff and breakfast. Not for a long stay and seemed more like a B&B

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
49 Thank Karuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My single room was small, cosy and well made up, kept very clean with a small en-suite. Bed was very comfortable and well made. Shower was excellent if not a little small but had lots of hot water and was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good, well cooked and freshly made with toast, tea, coffee and orange juice on hand.

Access to Bowness-in-Windermere is excellent. A 5-10 minute walk at most and you are in the high-street with an array of eating out and shopping and easy access to the waterside.

Although it didn't affect me it's worth mentioning the place has a lot of stairs, so access for the less able is probably not ideal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We decided to visit Bowness at the last minute to make the most of the freakish late September weather, which meant we couldn't get a room in our normal guest house. The White Lodge Hotel gives good first impressions, but there were lots of small annoyances that stopped us from being able to recommend this guest house to other people. Therefore we decided to highlight positives and negatives and let the readers make a decision;

negatives:
Paper bath mats...at £90 a night i expect carpet bath mats
the bathroom itself smelt foisty
tiles in the bathroom were painted over and were seriously flaking. This was above the sink and around the shower area.
breakfast: we were asked what we wanted...there was no menu as such to chose from so felt obliged to ask for a full english.
Broken chair
cracked window pane
The kettle was on a shelf with the cups etc but the plug was on the floor so this is where the kettle went when we wanted a cuppa
Biscuits weren't replaced the second day

Positives
Good location
very nice fried breakfast (no grease to be seen)
plenty of parking
staff seemed friendly but in all honesty we didnt really see them to talk to
back of the house (room 2) very quiet with good views of the hills (over the top of the houses in front)
Room was clean, as was the bedding.

If we'd paid £60 or £70 a night, all the little problems wouldn't really have mattered too much. For £90 a night though, we felt that this just wasn't value for money.
The place isn't exactly bad, but there are cheaper b&b's in a similar area which are better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank scarfaceseaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
I think that it is such a pity that you could not at any time during your stay give any indication that there was anything amiss.On the contrary you appeared to be more than satisfied with your accommodation. Would it not be better to discuss your grievances rather than using the anonymity of an email ? On the question of paper bath mats which is your only accurate comment we specifically use them because they are proven to be the most hygienic as they are replaced every day and other bathmats harbour a variety of germs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found the staff extremely helpful and professional with nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was cosy, met all our requirements and was extremely clean as was our ensuite - there was hot water daily!!!
The breakfast each morning was very substantial and there was always plenty of coffee and toast if required.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_IrelandMariusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing