We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Bowness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Best in Bowness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

After staying in a number of hotels and guest houses in Bowness this year, all of which have been good, our stay at the Fairfield has easily been the best. The location is perfect for access to walk into the village and exceptional in having a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. We had a fantastic four poster room with a beautiful modern bathroom and the breakfasts were the best this year. Well done to all at the Fairfield!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistanMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    73
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
229
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Widnes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

We booked 2 nights at The Fairfield after reading the website. It all sounded lovely so we picked a supieror room. On arrival the owner was quite rude to us as we had arrived a bit early and told us we could check in but not have our room - which is fine but then she walked off and said she was too busy as she had to be somewhere else so we were left stood in reception. We were then give room 7, which is a tiny room not much bigger than the 4 poster bed. This meant we hardly spent ay time there as it was too small to move around or relax. I do feel that selling a room as small at this, which also has problems with paper peeling off the walls, as a superior room and charging almost £100 per night is not good. I had high hopes for the weekend but left feeling disappointed by it ad will not return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraB140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Very clean and comfortable accommodation with some nice personal touches. Rooms are not massive but are very well thought out and equipped. Quiet location only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Bowness but with a short, sharp hill climb required on the return leg. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful and the fresh cooked breakfast is a delight that sets you up for the day. Having a PC available on Reception and WiFi is great for planning your next day. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

This hotel is located very close to the town centre and at the Bottom of the Dales Way. The service was friendly and helpful. There was a large range of breakfast options, I took the smoked salmon scrambled egg on toast, which was delicious. The bathroom was clean and modern and had a great shower with back massge jets and stone floor, the decor in the room itself (7) was a little tired but it was clean and comfortable. Part way through our stay the owners realised my gift voucher entitled us to a better room so they offered us a discount on a subsequnt trip or a complimentary bottle of bubbly. I thought this was very honest of them because I wouldn't have realised.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heladodefresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

excellent place to stay, just perfect. the friendly hosts, beautiful decoration of the house and fabulous breakfast! cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outlandistraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed here last weekend. I arranged the overnight stay via the internet after receiving a SMART box gift voucher (Charming getaways). I had no problems with my booking what so ever finding all communication to be friendly and professional. My partner and I absolutely loved this Guest House, we visit Bowness at least 3 times a year to visit my Granny. This is a little touch of luxury though. We stayed in the Penthouse suite- All mod cons experienced. We loved the abillity to shower and look out over the village from the roof top shower. The only thing which you can accept when the pair of us are tall is that we did bump our heads on the beams but it made us laugh every time!
Breakfast was lovely although huge, great selection for all !

Highly recommend this Guest House, Friendly, Professional and ideally located for the village.

We'll be back for sure.
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

My partner and I searched for a guest house that accomodates dogs via google and came across the Fairfield Garden Guest House website. From the moment we phoned to make a booking we experienced excellent friendly service, and our dog was genuinely welcomed with interest.

The website images of the Fairfield looked pretty and when we arrived we weren't disappointed. The house is just a short walk from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere, and the front entrance of the house is a very welcoming sight. Tony (proprioter) welcomed us and was extremely friendly and helpful. Unlike some hotels and guest houses, the dog was permitted everywhere but the Dining Room and we felt very comfortable having her with us on this stay.

The house has been decorated very elegantly and there are nice touches like a stylish lounge and licensed bar area, and an extensive library of walking guides and novels to borrow. The bedroom ( Room 11) was spacious and very clean, and was stylishly decorated with bright and clean colours, flatscreen TV, DVD player, and a very comfortable and well appointed bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent, well cooked with a number of choices as well as the traditional English breakfast (including kippers and smoked salmon). The service was attentive and friendly, and food was cooked to order.

We would definitely stay at the Fairfield again if we visit Bowness in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Property: Fairfield Garden Guest House
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing