We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome to Bowness!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome to Bowness!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Tony Blaney who owns and runs this lovely establishment is an extremely warm, friendly and personable gentleman who clearly takes immense pride in his guest house, why wouldn't he?! It's a great place to stay and the mega plus for us was that Tony and Liz are dog friendly. The other guests staying, despite not having dogs with them were all lovely towards Terry (dog) and made him feel welcome, hence he loved his mini break too. The room my partner and I stayed in with Terry was really comfortable, nicely decorated and ultra clean with a great bed! You have evrything you need in your room including refreshments (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, ginger biscuits) and the en-suite was great too, so clean!
The guest house has a cosy communal lounge area with comfy sofas, books and games and it looks out over the lovely garden at the rear which all guests are free to access and relax in (it looks gorgeous this morning with the glorious sun and blue sky).
The breakfast is great, hosting an all you can eat continental breaky bar and a hot breakfast menu which offers everything you need to set you up for a day of walking round the lakes (the sausages and bacon are tasty)!
The staff are all individually friendly and helpful, quick to offer anything you might need/want, they clearly enjoy their jobs and working at this particular guest house,
To wrap things up, I would whole heartedly recomment Fairfield Guest House for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, 'home-from-home' holiday. We had a great time and we hope you do too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenKen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    73
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
233
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a brilliant weekend break in this delightful hotel just a short walk from the centre of Bowness.-on-Windemere despite the wet weather. Our room was warm and cosy and had a lovely four poster bed with views over the pretty gardens. The bathroom was very well appointed and included a selection of useful toiletries. The attention to detail was very good throughout the hotel and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order with plenty of choice.
we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore the lake district.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a premium room this weekend. We had a double poster bed and luxury modern bathroom. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, full of knowledge and history of the local area and advice on where to visit or go for the best views.
The garden is gorgeous and the spring flowers were out, it is apparently even more beautiful in Summer. They have a log fire which he lit when it got colder and looked lovely.
The breakfast was wonderful, great and friendly service again. Lovely fresh food. Delicious. they also have a pent house which has a view from the huge shower.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The pent house or deluxe rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for a two day break- with two other couples at this very pleasant B&B,
The welcome by the owner was both warm and helpful, we arrived with one of the other couples and had the choice of either of two superior rooms, both splendid,- one with four poster- the other with king size bed, The bathrooms were also of good 4*hotel / standard, and extremely clean.
The breakfast was cooked to order and was one of the best I have had for many years of staying in both hotels & B&B,s. Served with extreme courtesy & good humour by the busy but efficient Spanish waiter,(even though- from Barcelona .!)
The only downside ,(other than the weather!!) was the HILL down to the centre of Bowness,- although not too long, it is extremely steep, and after a good night `imbibing` in the local restaurants & hostels- it`s almost torture to find out just -how- STEEP it is to reach the B&B.!
Please don`t even attempt the accent- if either infirm, breathless,pregnant or even `slightly` affected by anything stronger than tea !! (oxygen would probably help.!)
But a really `top class` B&B//hotel,-- with everything you could wish for- to achieve a memorable stay. I`ll be back..

Room Tip: Ask for superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumbria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked the premier suite at the last minute from Go Lakes. Straight from booking, the owners were helpful and communicative.

The hotel is very central to Bowness-on-Windermere. It is up a steep road so be prepared for this when walking back from the town centre, Don't be put off as taxis are plentiful and reasonable.

Parking is plentiful which is a rarity for this area.

We did arrive early, but this wasn't a problem and we were warmly greeted. We were shown to our suite which was open plan in the eves of the building. From personal experience - do mind your head as there are some low beams... We opted to have the chocolates in the room,which are locally produced and absolutely divine.

Having booked the room out of season we did get it at a discount which we thought was a more realistic price point. With a little more attention to detail we'd gladly pay the full price. Saying that there are some interesting features such as the large rainfall shower offering views of the Lake which could be turned on from a control pad outside of the cubicle, allowing it to warm up before you got in.

Breakfast was from a varied menu, and was of very good quality.

Again, the owners are really helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSBsMIssus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely two day stay at this hotel. We had booked a standard double room but decided to upgrade to a superior room with spa bath which was well worth it. The room was nicely decorated with everything you could ask for. The Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really lovely with plenty of choice. we would have no hesitation in a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

...to Tony and Liz for a wonderful stay, their helpful and kind assistance and all the comforts afforded by their lovely accommodation. The Penthouse shower cubicle has a window overlooking the surrounding fells, so during our stay provided a unique experience - an invigorating hot shower while looking out over the snow covered surroundings.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Property: Fairfield Garden Guest House
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing